Guide to the Triton Method

canadianeh

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
1,580
Reaction score
1,023
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
i use apex for trident I give 10 minutes between switching to triton 1-2 but I do dose 3ab at same time this way i onky use one outlet on apex

Sorry what do you mean by switching between them? I thought Trident only does the testing?? My question is can we program the Apex to dose using DOS filled up with Triton dosing liquids base on Trident testing?
 

action21

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2017
Messages
271
Reaction score
51
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Racine, WI
Sorry what do you mean by switching between them? I thought Trident only does the testing?? My question is can we program the Apex to dose using DOS filled up with Triton dosing liquids base on Trident testing?
you have part 1, 2,3a,3b you cannot just sose them all together at the same time
 

jdmee

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
5
Reaction score
5
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Sorry what do you mean by switching between them? I thought Trident only does the testing?? My question is can we program the Apex to dose using DOS filled up with Triton dosing liquids base on Trident testing?


Boy, those two names (TRITON and TRIDENT) can make it confusing can't it.

According to the Trident FAQ here (https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/trident-faq-official.595650/)

Can Trident control my dosing pump to keep everything stable?
Yes, when paired with one or many Neptune DOS, the Apex will use the Trident data to safely and intelligently adjust dosing based on recent test results.

Here is the Neptune page on controlled dosing https://www.neptunesystems.com/getstarted/trident/tridentdos/

Some one more knowledgeable than me will have to give any additional tricks of the trade.

What is meant by "switching between them" Is that you do not want to dose both the ALK, and the CA at the same time. That is why they are putting a 10 minute difference between the dosing of Part 1 and Part 2 of the Triton solutions.
 
Last edited:

Jagg

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 1, 2020
Messages
148
Reaction score
326
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
UK
Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-1.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-2.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-3.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-4.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-5.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-6.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-7.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-8.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-9.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-10.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-11.jpg


Guide to the TRITON Method 5-4-17-web-12.jpg


PDF below :D

TMGuide.png
Hi, I was looking at your system with some interest on my proposed 1800g build. But ive gone off the idea of cheato and refug as from my research at present it seems to be hit and miss, risk of over efficiency and too much nutrient removal (suppose it’s all in the sizing, dependent on stocking levels and feeding habits - but that seems really hard to determine and can shift) especially with lots of people using small refug and harvesting regularly. I am now considering DIY algae scrubber which I can upgrade/descale by adding larger or more screens in a relatively small space. It’s also relatively easy and cheap enough to make. Bit puzzled by your suggested sump capacity of 10-20% of DT? In my case that would be another very big tank 180-360 in my garage. I wasn’t planning on having anywhere near such a large sump. Interested to learn more about sizing and rationale and where the balance of equilibrium might lie. Thanks
 

action21

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2017
Messages
271
Reaction score
51
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Racine, WI
Can I also ask why no filter socks/pre filter but instead you use a protein skimmer? I was planning on doing it the other way round. Either will remove dissolved organics. Why remove any at all?
for me this sump i bought did not have a filter sock setup (triton44) It does have large Refugium that is hit and miss from my experience if I had to do over I agree with you on purchasing algae scrubber and is in plan for future I run an iomega 180i skimmer and had issue with over filling and causing floods I just added a davey jones locker which works with apex and should kill skimmer before flooding I also just ordered matroller and will adjust flow to it to make sure I dont drain too many nutrients
 

Jagg

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 1, 2020
Messages
148
Reaction score
326
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
UK
for me this sump i bought did not have a filter sock setup (triton44) It does have large Refugium that is hit and miss from my experience if I had to do over I agree with you on purchasing algae scrubber and is in plan for future I run an iomega 180i skimmer and had issue with over filling and causing floods I just added a davey jones locker which works with apex and should kill skimmer before flooding I also just ordered matroller and will adjust flow to it to make sure I dont drain too many nutrients
An ATS is easy to make just need a length of pvc pipe. Cut a slot lengthways, insert a mesh, fix in situ. Stopper one end of the pipe, to the other end hook up a water supply diverted from DT return. suspend the pipe/mesh in a square blacked out box (no bottom) and place over the sump. Add a light source. If more capacity is required add more pipes and screens. Hey presto.
 

K7BMG

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
1,981
Reaction score
1,882
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
what makes this pump that cost nearly 2K so good!!! you know how many other pumps you can get that is 1/3 that?
Supposedly they never fail, and pump the GPH as specified.
The problem with me is how are we to know.
Every manufacturer stretches the truth so much anymore that I dont believe any of the facts presentd by any of them.

Yes I could buy one if I wanted but I will never know because at 2K its out of my common sense budget.
 

K7BMG

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
1,981
Reaction score
1,882
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Hi, I have a question please.

Which of the Triton dosing liquids has Sponges? I want to increase my sponge population safely.

Dx

I don't think any of the Core 7 products contain sponges.

As to the issue of Sponge propagation and health well that way above my pay grade.
 

jrlmsla

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 18, 2020
Messages
23
Reaction score
39
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I have a question regarding refugium on size. I have an 80 gallon display tank. Does Triton recommend 10-20% of total display volume (in my case 8-16 gallons) or total water volume in display accounting for sand and rock.
I have a Trigger Systems ruby sump. The first chamber is 11x13.5x9.5 which would work if it is water volume As that works out to be about 6 gallons.
will this sump work? Or should I do other methods or buy a new sump?
 

Do you keep "Reef Safe with Caution" fish?

  • YES (tell us what in the thread)

    Votes: 294 62.4%
  • NO

    Votes: 162 34.4%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 15 3.2%
Neptune
Top