Is my anemone ok? Please help?

cnmonetti

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi friends, I’m fairly new to the care of an anemone and am looking for some input. I just got this anemone about 4 days ago and have been witnessing some strange behavior patterns, just wanted to make sure it’s normal with pictures to elaborate. So acclimation process went pretty smooth, temp adjusted for 30 minutes and drip acclimated for an 1 hour. Saw what it looked like at the pet store and how it ate and the sizing of it to have a set knowledge as to how it would be in the tank but so far it hasn’t measured up. When it was put it the tank it was about 3/4 the size it was chillin where we had placed it. A couple of hours pass and it’s still about that zone but had moved under our live rock pushed close to the glass with not much access to light. We left it in that spot for a bout a day and witnessed it shriveling and shrinking in size and diminishing in color. So we figured it wasn’t getting light as it needed and found it best to move it to a spot it would. We did and it moved to another crevice reducing to about a third of the size, expanding and shrinking over and over again. And not it has stayed in that spot continuing to stay small and doesn’t look like it’s doing to good. Parameters are all stable just wanted to make sure all was well.

Picture #1 right after acclimation into the tank. (3/4 of full size)

Picture #2 picked up and moved after being in dark corner under rock by glass. (1/2 of full size)

Picture #3 hiding under rock still doing alright (1/2 of full size)

Picture #4 back and forth from picture #3 reducing in size hiding mouth and body completely.

Is this normal?
Should we move it to a brighter location?
Is something wrong with it? Since we saw it at the shop it has not expanded even close to the size it was.
Does it just need time to adjust? Am I overreacting?
wht should I know about anemones to not stress out?