Lagoon UNS 90L build

dennislagoon

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,

This is my first build thread and hope it's going to be a fun one!

I have been in freshwater aquascaping for quite some years before, but went all-in on reefing for over a year now and I'm quite passionate about it. Currently I own a Reefer 170 including a sump and Apex controller.

However, aesthetics plays a big roll in pretty much everything I do. Personally, I'm not that fond of black silicon edges, black overflows or visible plumbing. On the other hand, I absolutely love long lagoon tanks, clear glass and minimalist approaches. I also like it to be relatively easy movable since there are plans of moving somewhere down the line. So basically, this build is going to focus on a clean looking small reef tank avoiding visual distractions as much as possible. I also like to follow the philosophy of keeping things technically simple this time, but still keeping some redundancy in mind.

The tank will feature a spectrum of LPS and in the long run hopefully some SPS as well on three little islands. I won't be doing much softies.

Considering the sump, I've been putting a lot of thoughts on this for a long time, even before I had the Reefer 170. I do see the advantages (and disadvantages) of having a sump, had one for over a year now. However, I also believe that with a tight maintenance routine I could make a canister filter work as well, so I can make use of glass lily pipes with skimmer for a cleaner appearance. For this I'm using a Oase Biomaster filter that has a pre-filter (which I tend to clean 1-2 times a week) and a build-in heater. I had this filter before and it worked pretty well. I kind of see this like a glorified HOB filter, just with more options and out of sight. For example, there are some interesting devices to hook up on a canister filter, like an algae reactor or UV filter.