Mantis Tank Setup

Hotshot163

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I've toyed with the idea of a saltwater setup for years now, and I recently came across the mantis shrimp. These little critters have pretty much inspired me to move from a theoretical setup to an actual setup! Since I am a newbie to saltwater and I dont want a completely austere aquascape, I was thinking of macros/soft corals to round out the tank and still keep things simple. Anyone have any recommendations, advice, or observations to share? Cheers, all.

MTBake

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They are relatively easy to keep. A 10 gallon works for most. If it is a larger species, a 20 long would most likely suffice.

A hob filter, heater, sand, some rock, a small power head for water flow, a cheap led hood that's commonly found on the 'complete packages' at Petco would be all that's really needed.

Keeping up with water quality with water changes would be your best bet.

If you think you'll want to get into corals later, buy a better light right off the start so you dont need to buy another later.

OP
OP
H

Hotshot163

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, looking at a larger species, and looking to give him lots of room. Softies and macros are very much on the docket, assuming there aren't any conflicts with doing that. I've read that low light/high flow is best to keep down shell rot and more closely mimic their natural environment.

TheShrimpNibbler

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
One thing that I’ve heard is that you should put plastic or acrylic at the bottom of the tank so that the mantis doesn’t break through the bottom. I’m not sure how likely it is that that would happen, but it’s something to look into.

OP
OP
H

Hotshot163

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0