sotoreef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi reef2reef,

This build thread dedicated to my future self (Yeah look back at all the mistakes you made ya fool :D), my supportive wife, family, friends, and everyone in r2r who following along.

This is my first attempt at reefing, recording all the ups and downs till God knows when. Hopefully I am committed enough to update the thread weekly.

Intro​

I am from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. A third world country in Southeast Asia. I love the reef/saltwater aquarium. Like most people, I fell in love with this hobby after watching the symbiosis between clownfish and anemone at my LFS display tank. The view give me a piece of mind and I can watch it for hours! This is how I get into the hobby. Hoping everyone here kind enough to guide me in this hobby.

After longtime lurking in r2r, reading tons of articles online, and watching lots of YouTube videos, here comes...

The Build Plan

I plan to minimize the cost as much as I can by buying used equipment.

Display: IM Nuvo 20 (23.62" L x 15" W x 13" H) - Used. Got it for fraction of the price
Cabinet: Custom made
Water: RODI water - 90 cents (MYR) per liter. So expensive!
Rock: Dry Rock 5kg (11 pounds) from nearest LFS
Sand: Caribsea Special Grade
Lighting: China LED A7 (90W)
Heater: None
Chiller: Hailea HS-28A - Used. Still Expensive
Skimmer: None. Too expensive for now. Let the future me figure out.
Filtration: Media: Socks, Floss, Carbon, Purigen (Maybe?), Chaeto (Maybe?)
Dosing: All For Reef if needed
Top Off: Auto Aqua ATO
Salt: Aquaforest Reef Salt

Stocking Plan

I want fast growing corals. My Plan is to stock the tank with lots of easy SPS, few LPS, and lot of Zoanthids. Will strikethrough the livestock once I have them in my tank later.

SPS Plan:
Birdnest - Radioactive, Pink
Digitata - Forest Fire, Green
Monticap - Green, Orange, Purple, Chili Pepper, Sunburst
Encrusting Monti - So many choices!
Stylophora - Purple
Poccilopora - Any colour