Plumbing Help Needed

MaverickReef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am building and plumbing a 120 gallon with a sump. This is my first time plumbing anything and I may have made a mistake. The threaded connector which connects into my bulkhead is leaking on both sides from my return pump. I wrapped the threads in Teflon tape, but they are still leaking. The leak is pretty slow, just a few drops a minute or so. Is there anyway I can deal this connection without cutting the pvc out and rebuilding the entire return line?
My return pump is connected to a tee which connects to both of these bulkheads and up through the corner overflows.

PXL_20210701_212426683.jpg PXL_20210701_213419336.jpg PXL_20210701_215236302.jpg

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is there a lip on the inside of the white connection? Possible O-ring missing?

DrZoidburg

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For threaded fittings silicone works great. Just need some cure time. Also if you need to it is easy to break the seal in the future. Teflon tape is tricky too much and can crack fittings, too little and get little leaks. Either way you might have to drain and dry the over flow. Try to unscrew it from above. If it was a really slow leak I'd say leave it they seal over time.

Last edited:

jandlms

Reef Enthusiast
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Teflon tape doesn't work. You need to get this stuff:
I have been fighting a slow leak from a screw fitting on the main overflow tube (bean animal) on my 120 build for a couple of days. I was almost to the point of cutting pipe and replacing everything when I saw your post.
Thank you for the suggestion. I am now about eight hours and counting with no runs, no drips, no leaks. Hopefully I didnt just jinx it.

TheSeas

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0