Reefer 425XL - Remote Sump?

Discussion in 'Red Sea' started by 1Blazer, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. 1Blazer

    1Blazer Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    California
    Sooo I just moved into a new home and lucky enough I have an opportunity to start up a new tank! I decided on the Red Sea Reefer 425XL but i got to thinking...Which is typically not the best for my wallet lol. Has anyone done a remote sump for more customization on the Red Sea reefer series? I already have the Ecotech Marine L1 pump and would not have more than 15 feet down to the basement. Anyone have any thoughts on this crazy idea? I have a 90 gallon tall I could do something with as well as a 20 gallon tank. Here are a few items I have:

    Reefer 425xl deluxe tank (With the AI hydra 26 HD lights)
    1 radion g3 pro
    1 radion xr15
    Arid 18 algae reactor
    Ecotech Vectra L1
    Mp10
    MP40
    Synergy Reef CL-34 Sump ( i was dumb and drilled the side wall in the return pump section)
    Apex Fusion
    three DOS dosers
    AquaSmart AWC and ATO
    BRS 6 stage 150 gpd with Chloromine buster filter

    Any thoughts or insights would be very much appreciated!
     

  2. mjlash22

    mjlash22 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Michigan
    I'm assuming you're talking about moving the sump from the stand to the basement? With the right equipment, I don't see why it wouldn't be possible. You would probably need to look at getting a higher powered return pump as I don't believe the vectra would have the right flow for the head pressure you would need. You would also need to find a way to extend/convert the metric red sea main down flow pipe to make it into your basement. I've seen some builds where they have completely removed the stock diaphgram pipe and replaced with a standard gate valve assembly.
     
  3. 1Blazer

    1Blazer Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    California
    Thank you mjlash22! I figured I would have to hard plumb it to the basement from the living room. the L1 has the following chart... What would you recommend as the flow for the Reefer 425xl? isnt it like 800lph? Not sure to be honest...

    [​IMG]
     
  4. mjlash22

    mjlash22 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Michigan
    For your tank the recommended flow is 1060gph. So you could have a max head of 10-12ft to work with. If you're not running a manifold or other equipment off of the return, it's possible but you would be running pretty much at 100% on the pump, and still maybe not quite getting the full flow rate.

    Just doing some estimated math, if you were to run just a straight pipe from the return, up from the basement to the tank's return...4-5ft for the tank height alone, plus I'm going to assume anywhere from 4-7ft from basement sump on a stand to top of basement ceiling. That would give you a range of 8-12ft of head pressure that would be needed for the proper flow rate.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018
  5. 1Blazer

    1Blazer Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    California
    I am thinking I may be better off just doing a remote ATO and AWC with the AquaSmart.... maybe use the Arid in the sump with the Skimmer (Vertex IN180). I am looking into calcium reactors as I REALLY want this to be a successful SPS tank. Maybe locate the ATO and the calcium reactor in the basement? Do you run the AIs on your tank? Looking into your build now...
     
  6. mjlash22

    mjlash22 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yes I purchased the deluxe and am using the included Hyrda's. I did not use the stock ATO reservoir, but will later convert it to a refugium and place it in its normal position over the filter sock area.
     
  7. 1Blazer

    1Blazer Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    California
    I just went through your build and it is beautifully done! Sucks about the ATO container though... Do you have a replacement on the way?
     
  8. mjlash22

    mjlash22 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yes, BRS has excellent customer service! And much appreciated!
     
  9. 1Blazer

    1Blazer Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    California
    @mjlash22 you are so right! BRS does an excellent job... I utilize their online messaging often
     
    mjlash22 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...