BuddyBonButt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I used my city water to clean my 80 pounds of sand (Caribsea grade sand) I know this is frowned apon.

My water has chloramine in it and I used the city water to clean it, I drained the water out as much as I could and put the wet sand in my 90 gallon aquarium. There was very little water in the sand still, it didn't pool. I used rodi water at 0 tds and filled the tank with that.

I still have to cycle my tank, I plan to do a 90% water change when my tank Cycles, should I still add a dechlorinator in my tank? Or should that little bit of water not be too much of an issue for the 90 gallons worth?

I also have a sump bringing it to about 110 gallons maybe 100.

I'll attach a picture of my tank as well. This is my first time posting so sorry if I did it wrong. I pretty much only understand reddit. This is pretty confusing to me.

16495421756877621478771179348119.jpg

Andyrm66

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd take the cheap insurance and use the dechlorinator. It will happen naturally over time, but the sooner you get the chloramine out the faster it can start cycling

OP
OP
B

BuddyBonButt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd take the cheap insurance and use the dechlorinator. It will happen naturally over time, but the sooner you get the chloramine out the faster it can start cycling
Ok. So should turn all pumps on, leave filters in like filter socks and sponges and let the dechlorinator make its rounds?

Andyrm66

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes and be prepared for a sand storm in your socks, even though its rinsed theres still a ton of fines that will need to get cleaned out.

OP
OP
B

BuddyBonButt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes and be prepared for a sand storm in your socks, even though its rinsed theres still a ton of fines that will need to get cleaned out.
Ok 2 last questions