Still practicing with the macro lens....

soccerbag

Chalices did this to me!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have had my macro lens for about 4 months now and am learning more and more everyday. I'm just a rookie with some half way decent equipment. Took some shots tonight in my frag tank and thought I would share. Advice / tips are welcome for sure.

Equipment: Canon Rebel XT with Macro lens
ISO - 100
AV setting (RAW)
DOF - 32
Tripod with remote shutter
Post processing in PSElements (white balance adjusted)

Lighting - ATI Powermodule 6x24w (all bulbs on)
1 ATI Blue +
2 AquaBlue Special
1 Fiji Purple
2 Super Actinics

Here we go...
IMG_3190.jpg

IMG_3207.jpg

IMG_3214.jpg

IMG_3188.jpg

IMG_3185.jpg

Lazys Coral House

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That pictures are beautiful. The only recommendation is to adjust white balance on camera prior to taking the pictures. It is a bit off which causes you to loose some of the colors and makes for a lot of post processing work. For an example I took a couple of your pictures and edit white balance a bit.

Before

IMG_3185.jpg

After

IMG_31851.jpg

Before

IMG_3190.jpg

After

IMG_31901.jpg

ca2or

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Those looks like pretty good pic's....how far away from the target are you? I think your avatar pic is the best though.

OP
OP
soccerbag

soccerbag

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Great pictures Craig! What kind of background are you using?

Thank you. I am using a piece of black acrylic glued to a mag float. I raise that up about 8" from the top of the water line and position my tripod and camera lens about 10" off the water. I would raise the lens up more to get more coral in the shot it I could...but I can't reach the viewfinder to focus if it's any higher...lol

OP
OP
soccerbag

soccerbag

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0