The new ProfiLux Powerbar 6E-PAB!

Matthias Gross

GHL Team
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
200
Reaction score
522
Here it is - Our brand new powerbar for the ProfiLux controller system

The short version:
  • 6 sockets individually switchable
  • heavy duty: up to 15 A each, high-inrush-current (peak 160 A) relays
  • individual current measurement and monitoring
  • availabe with sockets/plugs for USA/Canada, Germany/Austria, United Kingdom, France/Belgium, Switzerland (in a few weeks), other versions on request
  • connected over super-reliable ProfiLux Aquatic Bus
  • amazing design and outstanding quality
In detail: Please visit the GHL webpage here

PB 6E_Connections_diagonal_E.jpg

US-version:
Powerbar6E-PAB-US_VorneOben_850x385.jpg

UK-version:
Powerbar6E-PAB-UK_VorneOben_850x385.jpg

Schuko-version:
Powerbar6E-PAB-Schuko_Diagonal2_1000x590.png
 
Last edited:

Ditto

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
1,427
Reaction score
1,864
Location
Albany, NY
Great design!! Like the logo indicator on it also and the mounting brackets and 6 switch outlets is a big plus.
 
Last edited:

Tristren

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
523
Reaction score
494
Location
Ottawa
Looks very nice. This replaces the previous version?
@[email protected] is this available now(ish)?
 

Ditto

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
1,427
Reaction score
1,864
Location
Albany, NY
They are going to be in the US in about 2-3 weeks. They have shipped them from Germany.
 

nycjwi

Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
20
Reaction score
7
GHL makes great stuff, but in this day and age makes no sense it can't be configured and run from Mac OSX computer!
 
OP
Matthias Gross

Matthias Gross

GHL Team
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
200
Reaction score
522
GHL makes great stuff, but in this day and age makes no sense it can't be configured and run from Mac OSX computer!
What makes you say that? For using the app, the cloud or the web interface you can use any device you want. Could you do us a favor and open a new thread or contact us directly if you want to discuss about that Mac topic, let us stay here in this thread with the OT, the new powerbar. Thank you.
 

BZOFIQ

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
1,022
Reaction score
778
Location
NYC
That is one sweet power bar....too bad your controller does not offer wired Ethernet port. :(
 

griff500

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
438
Reaction score
192
That is one sweet power bar....too bad your controller does not offer wired Ethernet port. :(
Not really on topic but I'm not sure why no ethernet port would be a deal-breaker. I'm typing on a laptop that cost a few thousand and there's no ethernet port on that either...

Six switchable sockets, mountable... a decent improvement.
 

BZOFIQ

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
1,022
Reaction score
778
Location
NYC
Not really on topic but I'm not sure why no ethernet port would be a deal-breaker. I'm typing on a laptop that cost a few thousand and there's no ethernet port on that either...

Six switchable sockets, mountable... a decent improvement.
Big deal breaker for me.

I have wired Ethernet and for security reason wouldn't connect an aquarium controller via Wi-Fi. I actually find it quite simple.

Full disclosure: I typed this reply on a laptop that costs few thousand US Dollars with no built in Ethernet port - like it changes anything.
 
  • Like
Reactions: clp

Ditto

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
1,427
Reaction score
1,864
Location
Albany, NY
It has been discussed on another thread the differences, of this controller to competitors, and the specific details of one being able to support wired and wireless while GHL only supports wireless. Some users will base his/her decision on that feature being important, but that has nothing to really do with the Powerbar Announcement so lets keep to the spirit of what this announcement was specifically for.
 

BZOFIQ

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
1,022
Reaction score
778
Location
NYC
I simply stated that a I won't consider it until an ethernet expansion card is offered. It is my understanding that such card was available for previous generations of the controller.

It by no means should take away from excitement about announcement of an excellent addition to GHL's ecosystem.

I love that GHL responded to aquarists complaints and wishes with a superb product. I don't think any other player on the market offers such nice power strip and I am being serious.
Even as non-GHL user I am much excited about this announcement.

This power bar offers superior choice of materials, compact design and is aesthetically pleasing - unlike the main competitors' plastic gray and orange shoe box.

Am I just too honest?
 

Kyl

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
1,429
Reaction score
1,398
Location
Vancouver, Canada
I'm on the other team equipment wise, but kudos to keeping your design rooted in function over form. In this case, you have both ;)
 

WWIII

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 13, 2016
Messages
3,629
Reaction score
7,308
Location
Louisville, KY
This solves my concerns regarding the number of controllable outlets on the prior powerbar.
6 controllable outlets all high inrush relays capable of 16a! No issues with high watt heaters or if we all want to go back to metal halides we can! Seriously beefy components!
 

shoggoth43

Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
57
Reaction score
29
Not sure it was an issue with the prior GHL powerbar, but my Apex EB8 powerbar has all sorts of issues switching low wattage equipment like airpumps or prop pumps on anything other than the two relay ports. Relays on all outlets completely remove that as a possible issue. One of the things holding up my decision to changeover was trying to reconcile that five switched ports and one on vs 8 switched ports. With all 6 switched that's no longer an issue for me as I currently use 6 switched outlets and I'd have had to forego something or buy an additional switched powerbar. Now I just have to figure out how to afford the Profilux. :)

6 controllable outlets all high inrush relays capable of 16a! No issues with high watt heaters or if we all want to go back to metal halides we can! Seriously beefy components!
 

chefjpaul

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 21, 2014
Messages
2,997
Reaction score
3,924
Location
NYC
Not sure it was an issue with the prior GHL powerbar, but my Apex EB8 powerbar has all sorts of issues switching low wattage equipment like airpumps or prop pumps on anything other than the two relay ports. Relays on all outlets completely remove that as a possible issue. One of the things holding up my decision to changeover was trying to reconcile that five switched ports and one on vs 8 switched ports. With all 6 switched that's no longer an issue for me as I currently use 6 switched outlets and I'd have had to forego something or buy an additional switched powerbar. Now I just have to figure out how to afford the Profilux. :)
Worth every penny.

Ghl innovatives, and delivers top notch products. Once you buy, its a no worry, well oiled machine.
 

Ditto

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
1,427
Reaction score
1,864
Location
Albany, NY
@shoggoth43 - the 5.1 had relays also on 5 of the 6 switch ports .

@chefjpaul - could not say it any better a well built oiled machine.
 

BZOFIQ

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
1,022
Reaction score
778
Location
NYC
Not sure it was an issue with the prior GHL powerbar, but my Apex EB8 powerbar has all sorts of issues switching low wattage equipment like airpumps or prop pumps on anything other than the two relay ports. Relays on all outlets completely remove that as a possible issue. One of the things holding up my decision to changeover was trying to reconcile that five switched ports and one on vs 8 switched ports. With all 6 switched that's no longer an issue for me as I currently use 6 switched outlets and I'd have had to forego something or buy an additional switched powerbar. Now I just have to figure out how to afford the Profilux. :)
EB832 took care of that with all relay design. But their relays support only 7 or 8 amps each so the 800 heater or a high power MH or T5 fixture wouldnt work eliminating possibility of switching off the lights in case of tank overheating. One step forward, 2 steps back.
 

shoggoth43

Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
57
Reaction score
29
I thought the 5.1 powerbar had 4 high current relays, one dimmable capable socket, and one always on. So 5 switchable and one always on? Maybe I'm mixing that up with something else though. It's been a while since I looked and since I needed 6 switchable outlets I would have needed a second powerbar 5.1 or one of the other switchable bars. This is probably veering off topic at this point though.

Regardless, I am quite happy to see the six high inrush current relay outlets on the new bar since that basically removes any caveats I had about moving to GHL. Now I just have to figure if there's anything I need on the 4 or if the 4e will suffice. I keep thinking I'd like to monitor ORP so it may be worth just ponying up the cash up front for the 4 vs buying a card later for the 4e and maybe "wasting" an expansion slot later on.

@shoggoth43 - the 5.1 had relays also on 5 of the 6 switch ports .

@chefjpaul - could not say it any better a well built oiled machine.
 

Online statistics

Members online
1,357
Guests online
2,831
Total visitors
4,188
Budman's Corals LLC
Boom Corals
Top