Correlation between Alkalinity and pH?

Ojala

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,
I have a 300 gallon mixed reef system, and I am trying to make my tank a tad more stable/automated since I am traveling out of state for weeks at a time due to school. I am switching from a bubble magus dosing system (using biotech two part solution) to a korallin calcium reactor (running ARM coarse media), which will be monitored by a Neptune Apex system (with two pH probes, one for the reactor itself and one for the tank). I am brand new to calcium reactors and the Neptune products, but I will be getting some help from a friend who has this exact same setup for years now. So my main question is, how strong is the correlation between alkalinity and pH, meaning if my calcium reactor/Neptune system keeps my pH at 8 for example, will my alkalinity also remain constant or will it fluctuate? and if will fluctuate, will the fluctuations be large, or small enough not to worry about?
Any clarity on the matter would be greatly appreciated.
Bests,
Ojala

(Side note: I also understand that pH and alkalinity measure two totally different things, but it is my understanding that they correlated, however i may be wrong.)

Cory

More than 25 years reefing
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You cannot have confidence of alkalinity based on ph because Co2 in the air will lower ph ignoring the alkalinity. Your ph could be 7.8 but alkalinity could be anywhere from 5 to 11dkh. If thats what you were asking.

OP
OP
O

Ojala

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You cannot have confidence of alkalinity based on ph because Co2 in the air will lower ph ignoring the alkalinity. Your ph could be 7.8 but alkalinity could be anywhere from 5 to 11dkh. If thats what you were asking.