Help! Emergency! Green star polyps with no light.

Uzair Aiman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! Currently panicking and in an emergency right now. My lights just popped caused by a short circuit in my house somewhere, somehow busting my lights. Ive ordered a new set of lights and its on the way right now. I have only a green star polyp in my tank now and its closed right now since theres no light to it. Can I know how long can GSPs survive without light before it dies? And how do I know if its dead? Its on a frag plug right now, still purple mat, just closed.

ying yang

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im no expert but im guessing corals getting shipped around country and even the world for 4- 5 days or more and survive so if order new lights and get them asap on next day or within few days then shouldnt be a problem and as for how to see if they dead,they just melt away dont they ?
But either way try stay calm as its out your control now anyway,only thing you can do is wait for new lights to come or borrow off a local reefer or buy some cheap ones at the lfs and keep as spare but just try keep calm as possible which is hard i know as ive had lights fail on me on freshwater planted and my head was done in at first but then realised im powerless and just need wait ^_^
Hopefully lights come soon for you

OP
OP
Uzair Aiman

Uzair Aiman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im no expert but im guessing corals getting shipped around country and even the world for 4- 5 days or more and survive so if order new lights and get them asap on next day or within few days then shouldnt be a problem and as for how to see if they dead,they just melt away dont they ?