• 2x hydra 32

Votes: 3 20.0%

• Total voters

ajshepherd17

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am relatively new to the hobby so I am in desperate need of some input to make the least amount of regrets as possible down the road. I bought a Red Sea reefer 350 g2 that should be here in the next few weeks and I will go over my list of gear I have/need some help deciding. I can provide pictures of my aquascape if it helps to decide how many’s powerheads or lighting would be best

Tank goals
For this tank I don’t plan for it to be some super high end or fancy tank since it is my first tank and I’m bound to kill a lot of stuff. So it is going to be a mixed reef with mostly hammers,torches,monti cap, a nem and a few sps on my top shelf. My preference is the bright colors that have lots of movement but that could change down the road.

Current gear
80lbs of live Fiji pink sand
85lbs of dry rock which I probably only used 60
2x 200w heaters for some redundancy
2x ai Nero 5 power heads (will need more in the future)

Gear I need help on
Skimmer
Return pump
Lighting
Any other tips/products that help in the long run

My thought
For a skimmer I am leaning towards the rsk 300 mostly due to the fact that I like the brand and I’m a fan of the tube to drain the cup. Now my only 2 concerns are that I would eventually be nearly maxing out the recommended bioload at 75g and also it’s an ac pump and I am trying to keep the tank as quiet as possible.

For my return pump I have 3 options in mind. If your opinion is that a sicce silent 4 won’t be too loud then I will probably go that route because of ac reliability. As far as dc goes I’m between the reef octopus and Neptune pumps. I like the Core pumps because it will hook up to my future apex and then I like the reef octopus because who doesn’t like saving a few bucks