HELP , newbie to reefs

cameron_atkinson

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I’m very new to reefs I got a 5 gallon nano tank for my room with a nice light. * I am sorry to say what I’m about to say*. Setting up the tank I used filtered water from my sink and mixed it with instant ocean and added it to the tank. I saw it said that on the back of the instant ocean package. I added water conditioner to clean the water and it seemed fine. I place live rock in it last night with 4 corals and I woke up this morning to it looking like this. I haven’t tested the water that much but I will get back to you with the readings, though I do not know what to do if they are off. I was misguided in setting up my tank and just want to continue down a right path what should I do. Right now the Xenia looks worse than that, it looks all shriveled up. Thank you sorry so vague

IMG_4890.jpeg IMG_4888.jpeg

SnazzyUrchin792

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What time was this? Are you able to see them now? Coral closes up at night and needs time to wake up in the morning. It’s also recommended that you wait at least a month after setting up the tank before adding coral (or anything else living).

Sophie"s mom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So did you set the tank up, then instantly add corals? IF so, definitely WRONG. Did you cycle the tank at ALL? Corals should not go in a tank until it has been established. I would say at least 6 months.

OP
OP
C

cameron_atkinson

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is them right now, the guy at the store told me I could put them in right away. I trusted that sorry. Let me know if I can do anything it looks like it’s rapidly declining

Attachments

• IMG_4893.jpeg
    IMG_4893.jpeg
    108.2 KB · Views: 61
  • IMG_4892.png
    IMG_4892.png
    574.5 KB · Views: 57
  • IMG_4891.png
    IMG_4891.png
    458 KB · Views: 54

Sophie"s mom