ICV6 to Apex-Gyre

paphater

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
719
Reaction score
414
Word on the street (aka facebook) is that the ICV6 will soon be able to connect the advanced controller to an apex. Any truth to that?

 

Marc88

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 6, 2018
Messages
148
Reaction score
82
Location
Fresno Ca
I got the bump for you... Very curious about this. looking to integrate systems. I would like to control everything in one place.
 

Kyl

I make sponsors cry
View Badges
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
2,151
Reaction score
2,521
Location
Vancouver, Canada
Etheral via ICV6 >Apex 2016 support is coming soon. Gyres recently were given basic Syna-G support (pre-programmed modes) with ICV6, with more to come. Logic dictates the gyre support via ICV6 will eventually make its way to the 2016 Apex as well.
 
OP
P

paphater

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
719
Reaction score
414
If the icecap could control two gyres we would be set but unfortunately it doesn't and it's not worth the cost to buy two interfaces.
 

Kyl

I make sponsors cry
View Badges
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
2,151
Reaction score
2,521
Location
Vancouver, Canada
I Have my Gyre on an icecaps module hooked to my Apex
This is assuming apex support does happen, which given other things going on, should be decently safe bet;

If you're running two more more gyres, it's cheaper and more redundant to get the advanced controller and an ICV6. The Icecap modules also use up 0-10v apex ports, something that can be a premium considering the VDM for additional ones is $100.
 
Last edited:

Mark Gray

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 13, 2015
Messages
2,487
Reaction score
2,345
Location
Athens GA
This is assuming apex support does happen, which given other things going on, should be decently safe bet;
If you're running two more more gyres, it's cheaper and more redundant to get the advanced controller and an ICV6. The Icecap modules also use up 0-10v apex ports, something that can be a premium considering the VDM for additional ones is $100.
True but to me it's way better than the Gyre controller
 

Biglurr54

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
814
Reaction score
325
This is a major downfall of this pump. I love the flow and the design but the cost to get a system up and running and connected to an apex is way too much. I have an old apex. I hope this works with older classics.
 

adw

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 12, 2009
Messages
106
Reaction score
27
Yah what he said. With the new pumps out any chance they will be able to work with my Apex?
 

scriptmonkey

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 22, 2017
Messages
1,677
Reaction score
4,472
Location
Baltimore, MD
If I remember correctly Neptune's response is it is up to Maxspect because IOTA is there. That is why I do not see myself buying the 300 because being strung along with the future Apex support "Soon(tm)"
 

Where do you stand on water changes for your reef tank?

  • Regular Water Changes

    Votes: 113 66.9%
  • Occasional Water Changes

    Votes: 32 18.9%
  • Very Seldom Water Changes

    Votes: 12 7.1%
  • Water Change ONLY when there is an issue

    Votes: 10 5.9%
  • NO Water Changes Ever

    Votes: 2 1.2%

Online statistics

Members online
2,289
Guests online
5,063
Total visitors
7,352
http://www.marcorocks.com/
Top