KH Director

Discussion in 'GHL Advanced Technology' started by Matthias Gross, Feb 14, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Dawsokj1988

    Dawsokj1988 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    DFW area
    Very nice. What material is that?
     

  2. WWIII

    WWIII Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor LMAS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    2,834
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Thanks! It's just plywood. Some whitewood plywood Lowes started carrying locally. I'll probably paint it as well.
     
  3. WWIII

    WWIII Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor LMAS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    2,834
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Anyone else have their kh director hooked up yet?
     
  4. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
  5. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    Carribean
    Marco, please post when all the pre-orders are filled do that I can place mine!
     
  6. Ditto

    Ditto Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    @WWIII - I plan to begin posting this afternoon mine. I am just getting my notes together now :)
     
    WWIII and HolisticBear like this.
  7. Lasse

    Lasse Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    4,375
    Location:
    Källarliden 14 D Bohus, Sweden
    I set up one connected to P3 two days ago. Its works very well but do the calibrations carefully. I run 5 calibrations in a row for the sample pump and divided the result with 5. Did the same with the reagent pump.

    Mrx post was very helpful - I did as he/she describe. The first measurement was of way but the second was on spot

    Sincerely Lasse
     
    Ditto likes this.
  8. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    While we're not far off from completing the early bird pre-orders, however since we started shipping the orders have not stopped. All depending on the SKU you're looking for, it may be a couple of weeks or longer. We do fulfill reseller orders from the incoming stock, it's a moving target.
     
  9. Ditto

    Ditto Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    @Lasse and @MyReefRobbedMe thank you both for the instructions. Following the exact method you posted above made this quite a simple task.

    Some take away:
    1- Do not get to nervous when calibrating the PH probe. (I kept thinking something was wrong because it took so long)
    2- Calibrate the Pumps a few times, I did mine 6 times divided by 6 to make sure I was on the money.
    3- Do not forget to measure the length of your hose to your tank for the water sample.
    4- Take your time :)
     
  10. Dawsokj1988

    Dawsokj1988 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    DFW area
    I'm a little lost on how to 'vent' the tube for the reagent. The manual says use the manual buttons, so I'm guessing it just means run the reagent fluid through the tube so there's no more air. I've tried this twice, and the pressure has made the tube explode off the dosing pump spraying reagent everywhere. I even have cable ties securing the tubes.
     
  11. Dawsokj1988

    Dawsokj1988 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    DFW area
    I used the 'vent internal reagent tube' button and it worked. I'm still lost as to why that happened though lol.
     
    Ditto likes this.
  12. Ditto

    Ditto Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    This is what I did:

    I first calibrated my doser not connected to the KH at all.

    I did this 6 times to make sure I had the calibration number spot on. This included drawing the water from my tank and not from a cup. Calibrating with the KH reagent fluid also. I pretty much set it up fully to test without the KH connected. Once the calibration was done I then connected output tubes to the KH enabled the KH and calibrated the PH probe.

    Once the calibration of the PH probe was done I ran the vent tube into A bucket along with the waste water tube from pump 3.

    I then did exactly what @MyReefRobbedMe and @Lasse said:

    Go into GCC go to the KHD and go to that calculation screen under Maintenance and don't hit vent but push flush measurement cell and then when it's all done and it takes a few min ..... push empty measurement cell completely

    Make sure your vent tube is not submerged either.

    I have not had to vent mine. But I had to do two test, first one failed second one was spot on.
     
    dragon99 likes this.
  13. Dawsokj1988

    Dawsokj1988 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    DFW area
    I calibrated everything prior as well. I just followed the steps in the manual, and it's working. I was just confused as to why the tubes blew off when I was trying to vent the reagent tube. I'm still not even sure what that means. I'm guessing it means to remove all airflow from the tubes?
     
  14. Dawsokj1988

    Dawsokj1988 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    DFW area
    The only oddity I'm seeing is the 'last measurement' time. It seems to be about 6 hours off from the time under the 'general' tab in GCC.
     
  15. Dawsokj1988

    Dawsokj1988 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    DFW area
    It's been pretty spot on so far!

    KHD Director.jpg
     
  16. WWIII

    WWIII Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor LMAS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    2,834
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Got mine installed and running yesterday. Forgot to change dosing head numbers in the kh director section, accidentally dosed a little extra alk and calcium when I was trying to get the kh director working. Lol.

    Anyways, happy so far. The kh director is reading very consistent, albeit lower than my hanna checker. My hanna reads 9.2 while my kh director reads 7.6. I usually run my tank at 8.5ish on my hanna, but the extra alk I dosed yesterday raised it up to around 9. I may recalibrate the dosing heads and see if that changes anything. I don't mind the tests reading different as long as it's consistent and my tank stays happy! I'll update after I recalibrate in the next couple days.

    I also have an older red sea alk test. It says my alk is at 8.6, but the reagent is almost empty and a couple years old. I will probably order a salifert test as a triple check.
     
  17. Dawsokj1988

    Dawsokj1988 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    DFW area
    I checked with my Hanna and it read 7.3. the KHD also read 7.3. I know with the Hanna test reagents I usually get a .5 DKH variance with different bottles. 9.2 compared to 7.6 seems a big difference though.
     
    WWIII likes this.
  18. littleruttiger

    littleruttiger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    17
    You might try mixing up some fresh salt water, and test that - if you know what it should mix to it could give a baseline.
     
    WWIII likes this.
  19. WWIII

    WWIII Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor LMAS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    2,834
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    I have 3 different hanna reagent bottles and lots. One read 9.1, the other 2 read 9.2. I've had that issue before with hanna reagents a lot in the past. Seems like they've been better here the past 6 months or so.

    I'm guessing it has to do with calibration. Did you all float your ph solutions in the sump? Also, my input line from tankwater is 8.5 feet long. I can make it about 3 feet shorter, but then I will be pulling from the same section as where I dose. I could do that and just make sure I don't pull the sample at the same time as when I dose.

    I will do some tinkering and get it sorted.
     
  20. WWIII

    WWIII Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor LMAS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    2,834
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Hopefully it's not because I use sodium hydroxide to make my alkalinity solution, instead of sodium bicarbonate. It has a higher ph effect, but wouldn't think that would mess up the test once mixed in the tank?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...