New to the hobby

David Nguyen

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,
I'm new to this hobby and so far I have no corals or fish but I'm already hooked. I've setup my 40g AIO tank and just been letting it cycle. It's almost been 3.5 weeks. I started with dry rocks. In my chambers I have in the back are some carbon, bio balls, heater and nano protein skimmer. Looking into getting a kessil light. Thinking about doing a mix fish and coral tank. Please let me know if you have any tips or help for me. I would appreciate some help with how my rocks are setup. Does it look like it's too much?
20170913_213613.jpg

Tuffyyyyy

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You seem like you're really on the right track. I'll say, from experience, you're going to rethink that rock structure in a couple of months. It looks fine right now, but you're definitely going to want to set something up that lets fish swim through it.

Oceanwave45

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Look good! And welcome! I've learned to be patient with this hobby! Remember your tank will go through several stages it's normal be patient.. I know easier said than done! Just a small suggestion you may want open up your rock it will help give fish caves and allow circulation! Your rock is your best filter!! Great job thus far!!!

OP
OP
David Nguyen

David Nguyen

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Look good! And welcome! I've learned to be patient with this hobby! Remember your tank will go through several stages it's normal be patient.. I know easier said than done! Just a small suggestion you may want open up your rock it will help give fish caves and allow circulation! Your rock is your best filter!! Great job thus far!!!
Thanks for your suggestion. If I open it up which I'm okay with, I may need to eliminate some rocks. Don't I need 1 to 1 ratio on rocks and gallon size?

OP
OP
David Nguyen

David Nguyen

View Badges
Reaction score