Quarantine tank

saullman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to this hobby and don't have a quarantine tank set up. Just this past week I have lost 2 fish (Emperor Angel & clown) with a 3rd fish (goby) that's not looking so good. I currently have a 45 gallon JBJ nano. What I am quickly finding out is if you are going to be a serious hobbyist you need to have emergency procedures in place which I obviously don't have. I am about to move in a few weeks so I was thinking that I need to setup a QT in the new place.

I have a few questions regarding quarantine tanks:
1- what is the smallest tank I can use as a QT?
2- what equipment will I need to buy for someone that is on a tight budget?
3- what chemicals should I have on hand?
4- Do I need to cycle the QT and perform regular water changes?
5- what else do I need to know about a QT that I am not asking?

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to this hobby and don't have a quarantine tank set up. Just this past week I have lost 2 fish (Emperor Angel & clown) with a 3rd fish (goby) that's not looking so good. I currently have a 45 gallon JBJ nano. What I am quickly finding out is if you are going to be a serious hobbyist you need to have emergency procedures in place which I obviously don't have. I am about to move in a few weeks so I was thinking that I need to setup a QT in the new place.

I have a few questions regarding quarantine tanks:
1- what is the smallest tank I can use as a QT?
2- what equipment will I need to buy for someone that is on a tight budget?
3- what chemicals should I have on hand?
4- Do I need to cycle the QT and perform regular water changes?
5- what else do I need to know about a QT that I am not asking?
First, I'm sorry for your losses. It's always rough losing fish.