Beginner 20g Reef Tank Stocking Idea

andiesreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I'm new to the saltwater hobby and have some questions on appropriate stocking for a potential 20g tank my dad and I are planning on keeping together.

FISH - added gradually over a few weeks, in no particular order
  • 2 ocellaris clowns
  • 1 neon goby OR a firefish
  • 2 cardinalfish
  • Potentially a royal gramma? I would love input on if they are good in a smaller tank.
CUC - added gradually

• 5 hermit crabs with 10 empty shells
  • 3-5 astrea snails
  • 1 skunk cleaner shrimp
  • Potentially a brittle star? Again, not sure if they can be housed appropriately in this size tank.

We are also planning on keeping some soft corals such as Xenias, GSP, and zoas along with (potentially) some beginner-friendly LPS later on under a NiCrew 50w reef light or a Fluval Sea 20w nano light. I'm not sure which one would work better for a tank a maximum of 18 inches deep.

Thanks in advance!

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would skip the clowns in a 20g. They can be territorial in a small tank. The rest is fine.

Dark_Knightt

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 20g, my first reef tank, and I only have clowns and corals. Clowns are fine in a 20g, mine never move more than 4 inches from their cave, but I would add them last. If you are keen on getting the cardinals and/or fire/neon goby, add those first, because they are not aggressive and the clowns would bully them more if you introduced them last. (Give the "weaker" fish time to establish their territory, then add the clowns so they know what places are taken).
In my CUC I had a shrimp, he died but I loved him, so yes get one of those. I would probably recommend either more snails or hermits, maybe 10 hermits and 5 snails (or other way around).