How to Quarantine

  1. rich nyc

    rich nyc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    NYC
    thanks can i just do a 100% water change. It is only 14 Gallons
     

  2. Humblefish

    Humblefish Dr. Fish Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Louisiana Reef Club Expert Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    16,303
    Likes Received:
    17,717
    No, it must be like doing a tank transfer: new tank, water, equipment, etc. The only thing that gets transferred over is the fish.

    If you just drain the tank, tomonts will still be encysted on the glass, equipment, etc.
     
  3. Slayvoff

    Slayvoff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    49
    can you treat the display tank as the quarantine for the first set of fish that you put in with a brand new tank?
     
  4. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,057
    Likes Received:
    9,652
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Nope, the biological filtration is very important. The chemical filtration is just fine as long as it is done correctly. Such as powder from activated carbon can cause HLLE. You just don't want the chemical filtration when using meds.
     
  5. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,057
    Likes Received:
    9,652
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    You won't want to do this in my opinion. I treat all fish with copper prior to going in my system and I don't want any in my DT. Yes, it can be removed over time with filtration but not something I want to deal with.
     
    Humblefish likes this.
  6. rich nyc

    rich nyc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    NYC
    what about something my aquarium guy suggested. Transferring all my corals into my nano and putting my fish in dt and treating dt with cp.
     
  7. melypr1985

    melypr1985 totally addicted Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Expert Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    14,441
    Likes Received:
    20,780
    Location:
    Dallas area
    Not a great plan. The CP is likely to be rendered useless do to the biofilm that builds up in fish tanks. Since you can't test for CP concentration, you won't know when the cp has been degraded to the point of uselessness.
     
    rich nyc and Humblefish like this.
  8. M4rtin

    M4rtin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    18
    I only have one 10 gallon QT tank and I'm about to quarantine 1-2 clownfish.
    Can I quarantine corals in the same tank ?
    Can I run Prazipro treatment on fish while having corals in tank at the same time ?
     
  9. Humblefish

    Humblefish Dr. Fish Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Louisiana Reef Club Expert Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    16,303
    Likes Received:
    17,717
    No, corals and fish cannot be QTd together because they could potentially cross contaminate one another.
     
    Don Lidtke and M4rtin like this.
  10. M4rtin

    M4rtin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thanks, I guess I'll turn my 10gal qt to coral only, and get another 10-20gal for fish only.
     
    Humblefish and melypr1985 like this.
  11. Hugo Garcia

    Hugo Garcia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    30
    If I’m quaretining a Goby, do I need to add sand to the tank? Or will it eat pellets from the bottom?
     
    Big G likes this.
  12. Humblefish

    Humblefish Dr. Fish Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Louisiana Reef Club Expert Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    16,303
    Likes Received:
    17,717
    If its a sand sifting goby, I would add a small pile of dry sand to the QT so he feels more comfortable.
     
    Hugo Garcia and Big G like this.
  13. Big G

    Big G Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    803
    Location:
    Southern, Oregon
    You could consider placing a small tupperware dish with sand in your tank. My gobbies eat off the bare bottom but they also like dipping into the dish with the sand. Cheers!
     
    WesleyC, Don Lidtke and Hugo Garcia like this.
  14. VJV

    VJV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    244
    Hey @Humblefish, hope you are doing great. One question: is there anyway to reuse a fish QT as a coral QT? I use Prazipro and cupramine in the fish QT. If I completely empty the tank, give it a good rinse, let it dry, than Dill with water and heavily run carbon before adding the corals, would that work?

    I could also sterilize with bleach though I do not see the point in that given any surviving Tomonts would not have any fish to attach to during the 77 day QT of the corals.

    Cheers
     
  15. Humblefish

    Humblefish Dr. Fish Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Louisiana Reef Club Expert Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    16,303
    Likes Received:
    17,717
    Break the tank completely down, wipe it (and all equipment) using a vinegar soaked paper towel/rag, rinse everything thoroughly and you are good to go. :)
     
    Big G and VJV like this.
  16. VJV

    VJV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    244
    Thanks. I am not concerned with sterilizing the tank. I am concerned whether trace levels of copper of prazi may be left behind and kill the corals basically.
     
  17. Humblefish

    Humblefish Dr. Fish Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Louisiana Reef Club Expert Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    16,303
    Likes Received:
    17,717
    Won't happen so long as you wipe everything down thoroughly using vinegar.
     
    Big G and VJV like this.
  18. VJV

    VJV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    244
    Really? Vinegar neutralizes copper and prazi? I really never thought of that... does it has to be vinegar or citric acid would also work?
     
  19. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,057
    Likes Received:
    9,652
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Vinegar doesn't neutralize copper. It reacts with the copper to form copper acetate which is water soluble and very easy to rinse out.
    Prazi breaks down on its own after a few days so it isn't an issue.
     
    Big G, Humblefish and VJV like this.
  20. VJV

    VJV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    244
    Thanks! The tank is a Innovative Marine Nuvo 24g that has all those compartments in the rear making it difficult to reach every nook and cranny. I guess hoses, media baskets, pumps, would also require that treatment.

    Could I just run the tank with tap water and a % of vinegar? If so, what would the required ratio be to be effective?

    Also, would it also work with Cupramine (non chelated, amine bound)?
     

Share This Page

Loading...