Hydros Controllers…..

InactionJackson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thoughts on the Hydros controllers? I currently have GHL set up and it’s way too scientific for me. So I was thinking of switching over to Hydros…..

60 gl cube
Lps dominant
Deleted skimmer
15w Uv
C02 scrubber

Any feedback would be cool…. Thank you
Michael

MarineandReef Jaron

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just switched from Apex to Hydros on my home tank and will hopefully be putting out a video soon. I have been very happy. I can give you the good and the bad having used Apex for over a decade and Hydros for about 2 years here at the office. Can't tell you much about GHL

Pros
  • Price.
    • I can't tell you for sure Hydros will be cheaper, but it usually is, especially for accessories. Neptune AFS is $115.99, Hydros feeder is $34.99. Neptune Dos is $349.99, Hydros Dosing Pumps are $59.99 each.
  • More Intuitive UI
    • I have been using Apex for 10 years and it comes easy to me but I do think the average person will prefer programming in Hydros. No coding and a lot more preset tasks built-in.
  • Better probe calibration
    • I am really liking the ability to add an offset to the probes. I am diligent in calibrating but I still find my pH doesn't match my color metric pH test and I trust the color metric more. I like being able to add a slight off set to match. I also like the 2 point salinity calibration.
  • Unique Sensors
    • There are some unique sensors with hydros you can't get with other systems. I like the skimmer sensor, Rope Leak sensors, and TDS meters. I don't know of another manufacturer who has these.
  • Redundant brains
    • I have seen whole controller systems die when a brain went out. It is nice to know that with Hydros the programing and internet connections are spread out. I haven't had issues yet to test the redundancy but it does add some peace of mind.
  • Wireless modules