Introduction

bhudson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello REEF2REEF !

I'm new to the Saltwater monster but I've enjoyed learning much over the past 3 or 4 months.

I added saltwater and Caribsea Rock/Sand to a Red Sea Peninsula ( 26 gallon ) on Oct 9th. I began a fishless cycle on Oct 10th, and the cycle was complete Nov 11th.

Nov 12th I added 2 small Clownfish. I have paid close attention to water testing and haven't seen a bit of Ammonia or Nitrite since fish were added. I've been good about water changes to keep Nitrates down, and generally have changed between 5 and 10 gallons a week so far.

Then I made what I now consider a mistake... on Nov 25th I added 3 torch corals ( dipped for good measure ) to my tank. The next morning, the Brown algae appeared. Only a few spots. Quarter size. Then it began to get larger. I did a 10 gallon water change already.. cleaned the sand and rock best I could. Toothbrush and gravel vacuum. That looked good for a day or so, but the algae came back strong.

The pictures here are what it looks like now. Nov 29th.

I just tested my water . This past hour.

Temp 76.5
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate Between 5 and 10ppm I'm guessing? The colors on the API test kit can be tough to read sometimes.
pH 7.9
Phosphate 0
Salinity 1.024
Alk dKH 9.7

I haven't been running my protein skimmer because I can't seem to get it dialed in. I've just had it turned off...

I've reduced my lighting to 30% 9 hours/day . I'm afraid to reduce it further because of the torches.

So a couple questions if I may..

What can I do to help clear up the algae? Should I be patient? Can I wait this out? Or is there a proactive measure I can take?

Also, what can I do to lower my dKH? My LFS is telling me I should be closer to 8.5 dKH.

Any info is much appreciated. Cheers from Delaware, USA.

-Bill

20221129_131306.jpg
20221129_131312.jpg

20221129_142526.jpg

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score