Trident FAQ (official)

ca1ore

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
8,286
Reaction score
10,978
Location
Stamford, CT
I suppose you could reset the time zone on the apex ..... in my case I could adjust it to two hours ahead. I’d have to change all my lighting program as well, but that would align the 6 am/pm alk at least with lights on/off. Probably more trouble than it’s worth though.
 

DivingTheWorld

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
485
Reaction score
809
Location
NorCal
Totally agree. the question is - does it matter in 'real life'. The theory sounds good - I might change my alk dosage more to daytime:)
I think it matters more depending on how much dkh your tank consumes. Mine consumes 3+ dkh. Once I split my dosing schedule, I saw a noticeable difference in my acros. But dialing it in manually testing twice a day is annoying! I’d much rather do it with a Trident. Just can’t do it as currently designed.
 
OP
Terence

Terence

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
1,725
Reaction score
2,921
Location
Gilroy, CA
@MnFish1, this thread too has rolled out of control and I cannot keep up due to the amount of crosstalk that goes on. Not enough time in the day for me to do that and all the other stuff I have to do and follow. From time to time if I happen to catch an actual question in passing, I will answer it.

In this case the schedule is the way it is because of how the Apex schedules things between 00:01 and 00:00 and because of the desire to have the the tests be equidistant from each other. That’s as much as I have been told so no point in trying to press me for more details than that. Can’t say if that’s the way it will always be or not. Just that’s the way it is.
 

Maximus

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,459
Reaction score
432
Location
CA
Terence, what happens if some tiny bits of detritus is sucked up while it's testing? I'm just thinking of the cumulative effects of detritus getting sucked in after hundreds of tests. Does the Trident have some sort of filter? Thanks.
 
OP
Terence

Terence

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
1,725
Reaction score
2,921
Location
Gilroy, CA
Terence, what happens if some tiny bits of detritus is sucked up while it's testing? I'm just thinking of the cumulative effects of detritus getting sucked in after hundreds of tests. Does the Trident have some sort of filter? Thanks.
After what is likely hundreds of thousands of tests performed, we have possibly one case of this issue that was mostly cause by where the tube was located. We have explored a filter option, but that came with a whole slew of other potential side effects. Knowing how things work, it is most likely to have an acute incident of clogging or potential clogging from using a clear tube and algae building up inside it. It is unlikely that any foreign matter will accumulate over time.
 

Hoyhoy

Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
29
Reaction score
20
Dear @Terence, are you guys doing anything to increase the production rates of the tridents? Judging by how fast the units sell on most online retailers, I wont be able to get one this year...

Thanks.
 
OP
Terence

Terence

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
1,725
Reaction score
2,921
Location
Gilroy, CA
Dear @Terence, are you guys doing anything to increase the production rates of the tridents? Judging by how fast the units sell on most online retailers, I wont be able to get one this year...

Thanks.
We are doing the best we can.
 

mitch91175

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
2,113
Reaction score
1,316
Location
Rowlett, TX
Actually, I think people are finding that just the opposite is true. The corals use alkalinity during the day while the lights are on, so that’s when the big alkalinity demand is. If you are dosing at night you’re creating much more of a swing than you would be doing most of your dosing during the day when the high demand is happening.
This has been know for quite some time now. Personally never understood increasing dosing at night. I even feed during lights on.

I don’t have a Trident, but notice that my dKH decreases right about the time my T5 lights go out around 5pm. I get to test as frequently as I want though so I change frequency based on what I am doing with my system. Was testing every hour will adding kalk into the mix now back to every 6 hours.
 

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
10,135
Reaction score
28,865
Location
In-The-Boro, TN
I - for example start my alk at 8PM - and dose every hour until 8 AM - Its common sense (I dont need a trident) to decide to dose more alk at night.
My corals are still in-taking the big-3 / 3 hours after lights out.

Most of us use to dose alk during the night to help hold the ph during lights out.

But... Keeping alk rock steady 24/7, has shown improvement in my reef.
 

VJV

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 28, 2015
Messages
1,302
Reaction score
652
Well, dosing Alk at night comes from a time where keeping pH stable was a key priority. However, it makes no sense from a metabolic point of view given corals consume most Alk and Calcium during the day hours, when most of the skeleton growth occurs.

My tank consumes about 1,5dKh daily. During the night it only takes up about 10% of this (without dosing Alk drops 0,15 dKH). I now dose kalk during the night which boosts pH and keeps up with the small demand and two part during the day. Alk is rock solid all around [emoji4].
 

MnFish1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
8,002
Reaction score
8,891
This has been know for quite some time now. Personally never understood increasing dosing at night. I even feed during lights on.

I don’t have a Trident, but notice that my dKH decreases right about the time my T5 lights go out around 5pm. I get to test as frequently as I want though so I change frequency based on what I am doing with my system. Was testing every hour will adding kalk into the mix now back to every 6 hours.
Dosing at night (esp if using soda ash) increases the pH (at least some). But - if your alkalinity starts decreasing at 5PM - doesnt that suggest you would want to dose at that time?
 

TinCanHero

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
146
Reaction score
120
Hi @Terence ,
I know you said previously:
Our products generally release to markets outside NA around 90 days subsequent to their NA release.
Is this "still" the plan with the Trident? I spoke to CHA here in the UK when the Trident first launched and they where hoping for 90 Days, however when i spoke to them again this week i was told to forget about it this year and it would likely be mid next year due to the demand. Is this true? I know the Trident is in very high demand and you guys are doing the best you can however could you shine a light on your UK plans?
Kind regards,
TinCanHero
 

Snookin

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
731
Reaction score
677
Location
Tampa
@Terence When doing controlled dosing with the DOS is there a way to see how many mls vs target range that I programmed after running the task? After running the Trident for a month and consistently testing my alk/ca consumption is going up slightly and I’d like to keep track of that info today vs lets say 2yrs from now.
 

Roberto Luo

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
180
Reaction score
61
@Terence after i calibrated my trident i realized it logged the calibration to the graph. Alk was 8.2 and mag 1450 just like the bottle indicated.

But for Calcium is showed 607 on the calibration and the bottle is marked at 470. Does that means its off? Miss calibrated?

61EE4F28-F002-4326-8F64-5BCE06120F7C.png
 

eschulist

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
314
Reaction score
659
Location
Minneapolis
@Terence after i calibrated my trident i realized it logged the calibration to the graph. Alk was 8.2 and mag 1450 just like the bottle indicated.

But for Calcium is showed 607 on the calibration and the bottle is marked at 470. Does that means its off? Miss calibrated?

61EE4F28-F002-4326-8F64-5BCE06120F7C.png
<---- Was on NSI for Trident since Jan.

This happens in the background midway through the test. Its actually doing the full run of test 2-3 times during Calibration. It does a wide range test to get a rough idea where to perform a precise version on the next test. This wide range test can make it seem like it grabbed a bit of bad data but the next test will usually nail the calibration solution.



Here are my final test results. (Check the time and look at the graph closely)



Here are the values from just minutes before when it got results from the wide range test. Low Mg and High Mg that aren't anywhere near the calibration values.



I bet if you ran a manual test while keeping the sample line still in the calibration solution it would be very close to the labeled values.
 
Last edited:
OP
Terence

Terence

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
1,725
Reaction score
2,921
Location
Gilroy, CA
@Terence after i calibrated my trident i realized it logged the calibration to the graph. Alk was 8.2 and mag 1450 just like the bottle indicated.

But for Calcium is showed 607 on the calibration and the bottle is marked at 470. Does that means its off? Miss calibrated?

61EE4F28-F002-4326-8F64-5BCE06120F7C.png
For individual customer situations I will ask that you use our normal support channels.
 
OP
Terence

Terence

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
1,725
Reaction score
2,921
Location
Gilroy, CA
@Terence When doing controlled dosing with the DOS is there a way to see how many mls vs target range that I programmed after running the task? After running the Trident for a month and consistently testing my alk/ca consumption is going up slightly and I’d like to keep track of that info today vs lets say 2yrs from now.
Not that I am aware of. Sorry.
 
OP
Terence

Terence

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
1,725
Reaction score
2,921
Location
Gilroy, CA
Hi @Terence ,
I know you said previously:

Is this "still" the plan with the Trident? I spoke to CHA here in the UK when the Trident first launched and they where hoping for 90 Days, however when i spoke to them again this week i was told to forget about it this year and it would likely be mid next year due to the demand. Is this true? I know the Trident is in very high demand and you guys are doing the best you can however could you shine a light on your UK plans?
Kind regards,
TinCanHero
We still have not set a firm date for Tridents to move outside of North America. That said, I think that CH is way off base here. It will happen this year.
 

TinCanHero

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
146
Reaction score
120
We still have not set a firm date for Tridents to move outside of North America. That said, I think that CH is way off base here. It will happen this year.
Many thanks for your reply! This gives me hope I can get mine before Christmas! :) Keep up the good work.
Kind regards,
TinCanHero.
 

What's better food for you fish. A High Quality Frozen or High Quality Dry Food?

  • High Quality Frozen

    Votes: 204 76.4%
  • High Quality Dry

    Votes: 44 16.5%
  • Other (please post in the thread)

    Votes: 19 7.1%

Online statistics

Members online
587
Guests online
3,186
Total visitors
3,773
Coral Frenzy
Top