Trident FAQ (official)

Discussion in 'Neptune Systems' started by Terence, May 7, 2019.

  1. evolved

    evolved The Wrasse Guy Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Article Contributor AZ FRAG Member Build Thread Contributor Expert Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8,750
    Likes Received:
    6,687
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Off topic posts to this official Neptune Trident FAQ have been moved to a general Trident discussion thread (here).

    Please keep posts in this thread relevant to the immediate topic (Trident FAQs); thanks!
    -R2R Moderation
     

  2. leepink23

    leepink23 Valuable Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    Mississippi
     
  3. evolved

    evolved The Wrasse Guy Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Article Contributor AZ FRAG Member Build Thread Contributor Expert Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8,750
    Likes Received:
    6,687
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    It's significantly shorter now; might be short enough to view again. ;)
     
  4. David S

    David S Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    118
    Terence
    Saw your reply on YouTube.
    Basically need a minimum of 4/2/2 testing to work properly
     
  5. dcmartinpc

    dcmartinpc Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    204
    I am an NSI tester so I will take a stab at the first 2 questions.

    As far as sump placement, I would aim for an area as free of micro bubbles as possible. Potentially immediately after your filter socks or after a bubble trap.

    Can you clarify your question regarding knowing your light schedule? I’m not understanding what you are asking. Assuming you are asking about automatic dosing, The trident doesn’t take in to account your light schedule, you set the baselines and the trident adjusts up and down from your baseline.

    Don
     
    leepink23 likes this.
  6. Terence

    Terence Valuable Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Partner Sponsor 2019

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    2,895
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    Actually it does. If you run the task, and check the box, it will intelligently determine your light cycle and adjust dosing accordingly. This automated feature went into NSI later in the game of ADC testing, and it was in a task, so you might have missed it.
     
    Demonic and Shinister like this.
  7. Billldg

    Billldg Going off the reef end R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor Hospitality Award

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    4,664
    Likes Received:
    24,314
    Location:
    Georgia
    This only works if you are using Radions with a WXM module, correct?
     
  8. Terence

    Terence Valuable Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Partner Sponsor 2019

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    2,895
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    You have a couple of options. You can buy the new Apex base unit alone at $399. Then you will also need an AquaBus cable and power supply for the Trident because you do not have a 1Link connection (they exist on the EB832) - those together will run you, off the top of my head, about $25 OR
    You can buy an ApexEL for $499 and still use all your existing gear - it comes with the EB832 which has the 1Link port and the Trident comes with a 1Link cable OR
    You can buy the Apex for $799 and still use all your existing gear - it comes with the EB832 which has the 1Link port and the Trident comes with a 1Link cable

    I recommend either of the later two because they are a much better value.

    Authorized dealers are not allowed to take your money and preorder the Trident for you.

    About six pounds.

    We do not know yet when other purchasing option will be available or what exactly they will be. A six month kit is something we have have bounced around and discussed at events and is likely to come down the road at some time.

    One Year.

    Not a problem

    We do not have an exact number on this, and it likely depends on how much is left in the bottle, but our best guess is that after a few months there will be some degradation.

    Yes - but you don't have to look at the result if it upsets you ;)

    Due to the way the Trident functions, it is not set up for this kind of operation. The trident is intended to be run on one system.

    No

    No

    Yes, but two DOS are NOT required. You could choose to manually dose Mg.

    Some of our NSI team, and myself, are doing this by altering the pH level in the reactor based on the alkalinity reading. There is no official documentation on this but I encourage you to go to our community forum or the FB user group to find out more.

    No, the beauty of the automated dosing control are its safety stops. So dosing 5x your normal level would never happen. However, you could get an alert (high pH level in CaRx), go to your phone, pull up your DOS config, and set it for 350 and turn on ADC.

    No

    1. No, the tube is only 5', that is your limit.
    2. Yes

    Yes

    With the smoked plastic cover, normal stray or ambient light will not be an issue. Remove the cover and have a bright light nearby and there may be a side effect. So leave the cover in place.

    This is something we are exploring. We are storing this information now. How and when we might present it has yet to be decided.
     
    chromis, Zirco, Silver14SS and 2 others like this.
  9. leepink23

    leepink23 Valuable Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Thanks! Will this work if I have 2 separate lighting sources running at separate times, halides cut off at 730, Orphek at 10? Both plugged into eb832. If not will it just dose the same amount during the day and night, this was an exciting feature!
     
  10. dcmartinpc

    dcmartinpc Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    204
    That’s great! This was a feature I requested during the hangout. I didn’t realize it made it in. Not sure how I missed that! Another example that Neptune is listening.

    Thanks!

    Don
     
  11. Terence

    Terence Valuable Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Partner Sponsor 2019

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    2,895
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    Oops, my bad. Paul mentioned this in the livestream, I know we looked into this (and who knows someone in engineering might be tinkering with it), but he must have had your post in his head when he said it, this is incorrect. Checking this box will have more dosing from 8AM to 8PM than it does from 8PM to 8AM overnight. So for now that may or many not coincide well with your light schedule.
     
    leepink23 likes this.
  12. eschulist

    eschulist Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Ya I just turned this on hoping it would match my 0-10v intensity but it did not.

    Also I’m surprised I didn’t ask or figure this out during NSI. How do I adjust or turn off the automatic alarms that are created during the controlled dosing task. My Alk went above the top range and it’s going off non stop and it’s not in the base email alarm or looks to be accessible from the Trident gear options.
     
  13. eschulist

    eschulist Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    K figured this out after thinking about it in the shower of all places. Then noticed Russ sent me a message.

    Trident alarm values and turning them on and off are located inside the Input tab or the new System View if you open up the Trident module and click the gear for the respective test.
     
  14. Albertastorm

    Albertastorm Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    311
    you really could by moving intake line to different tanks daily or weekly:)
     
    Millimylilly likes this.
  15. leepink23

    leepink23 Valuable Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Will the trident make auto adjustments to alkalinity, calcium and magnesium or does it just make auto adjustments to one?
     
  16. eschulist

    eschulist Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    You can but you shouldn’t use Dos Control as it would be inaccurate each time you switch. You also only get one graph so the values are going to jump frequently and be hard to follow the trends.

    If you have 2-3 tanks you can run it for a few weeks on one, slowly adjusting your dosing manually until you flatten out your levels. Then switch the Trident to a new tank and repeat. After all the levels are stable to your satisfaction place the Trident on your favorite tank and use DOS control and enable the alarms.
     
  17. mikus

    mikus Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    32
    Does the system somehow completely cycle the test water before testing? Depending on timing between testing and length of supply from source water to the unit, being that the system uses such a small amount of water for testing, tests could be skewed?v
     
  18. Terence

    Terence Valuable Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Partner Sponsor 2019

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    2,895
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    All test water is always fresh from the tank at that time.

    This has been answered. Probably 20 posts back. Please people read through this thread and become informed before asking questions already answered. It keeps the thread clean and it allows me to have the time necessary to get the new questions answered for you all.
     
    mitch91175 likes this.
  19. MnFish1

    MnFish1 Valuable Member R2R Supporter Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    6,591
    OK - I read the FAQ - I didnt not see the answers to these questions: Thanks

    1. I've seen several people with the trident placed on what 'looks like' the bottom of their cabinet - yet I have heard they need to be mounted above the sump - are they doing it incorrectly - or can the trident be placed on the floor level.
    2. What is the story with the ease at which the Trident can be started/stopped. Ie - some have said one needs to wait 2 weeks or so after starting up before getting 'reliable' measurements - so I m curious when doing maintenance - with a hot-swap for example - how long do you have to get the unit in your tank to trust the results - and once it comes back - how long does it take to get back online? If one is going to do a 'hot swap' my assumption would be (am I right or wrong) - that the unit would have to have a deposit or something before you would ship a unit on a hot swap basis?
     
    dante411x likes this.
  20. Krazie4Acans

    Krazie4Acans Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Syracuse
    If you have a DOS connected for each additive then yes you can set the trident up to control each one.
     
    leepink23 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted