Haanstang's 210 peninsula

What substrate do you prefer


  • Total voters
    71

haanstang

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
361
Reaction score
215
Location
DeMotte IN
So I've been Reefing for about 2 years now and have been planning this build for about 4 years it seems like. I have a 65g tank at the moment with a 30 gallon sump that is too wide for my stand so it's on the floor in the spare room ( soon to be fishroom ).
Anyway my new build. The tank is a 72 x 24 x 29 non reef ready. I'm putting it in my living room to divide the kitchen, entryway hallway from the living room. Wanting more water volume that I could fit underneath the display I decided to put the sump in the spare room where the current tank is now. I may get critiqued on this next part but there is a hallway that divides the fishroom from the living room so the overflow pipes will run down inside the wall, underneath the hallway floor and back up so the sump. I am using a shadow overflow box with three 1.5" pipes. The top of the tank will be 4'+ higher than the top of the sump. ( I'll have pictures of the layout later) so water going in will push the water out of the pipes just like a P-Trap. I will use my apex to monitor the overflow with the new Fmm and optical sensors to shut off the return pump and text me if there is ever a problem.
So this past weekend I finally got started on my stand. I went with a wood stand since I was not too worried about fitting everything underneath but that backfired when I decided to put a second DT underneath with its own sump. This way the wife can have her own tank with what she wants. So there will be a 40 breeder on the bottom and it's sump next to it in a compartment.
 

leptang

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 7, 2014
Messages
502
Reaction score
215
Location
Portland, OR
Pee trap and using a over flow box... Sounds like fun! Food for thought, I would add a float switch in your sump where your return pump is, so it would turn off your pump if your sumps starts to get low that way there won't be a huge mess of water on the floor if something does go wrong.

Edited: Woops didn't read all of it sounds a bit thought out.
 
OP
haanstang

haanstang

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
361
Reaction score
215
Location
DeMotte IN
Pee trap and using a over flow box... Sounds like fun! Food for thought, I would add a float switch in your sump where your return pump is, so it would turn off your pump if your sumps starts to get low that way there won't be a huge mess of water on the floor if something does go wrong.

Edited: Woops didn't read all of it sounds a bit thought out.
I will still probably do that as well. Redundancy is our friend
 
OP
haanstang

haanstang

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
361
Reaction score
215
Location
DeMotte IN
So the plan is at this point to go with an sps dominated rock structure with some hammers frogs and torches in the lower flow end. Going with a travertine bottom that eventually will be covered in zoanthids and palys.
60" x 8 bulb ATI fixture with two 60" reefbrite leds
My current 65 gallon will become the display refugium in the fish room.
I am back and forth on the sump. I would like 100 Gallons of water volume but not sure if I will build a sump or buy possibly a 75g and another 40 breeder and build baffles.
 
OP
haanstang

haanstang

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
361
Reaction score
215
Location
DeMotte IN
My saltwater mixing station has been up and running for a little over a month now. It's not the nicest that I've seen by far but it works for me.
I have two 32 gallon brute cans on top for my rodi water and one 44 gallon for fresh saltwater. I picked up a blueline 70 hd in almost new condition. I will be able to pump saltwater or top off water to the fish room and old saltwater from the fishroom and back to the garage to a utility sink I put in years back. I am thinking about using the apex to do continuous water changes with the DOS or I can set it up for automatic water change with the apex. I really love my Apex. The possibilities are endless with this thing.
I bought a smart buddy booster pump that automatically flushes the ro membrane for 18 seconds every time it is turned on. Another reason to have an apex energy bar on the station is to program the outlet for the smart buddy booster pump to turn off and right back on every 2 hours it is running so it will flush the membrane every two hours.
My rodi unit is a 10 stage hybrid of aqua fx, spectra pure and brs. I have 3 sediment filters 5 , 1 & .2 microns, 3 carbon blocks 5 , 1 & .5 microns a 75 gallon per day ro membrane ( that I get way more out of) and three di resin canisters
 
Last edited:

Husker

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
541
Reaction score
412
Have you started on it yet?
I have the tank and the stand is in progress. I am putting together the aquascape now. That is about all I have done so far. I might put a thread up relatively soon just to get feedback early in the process.
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock
OP
haanstang

haanstang

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
361
Reaction score
215
Location
DeMotte IN
I think you have more rodi units then quite a few fish shops
Probably but I don't have the best water to start with. And this way the expensive ones last longer. I need to do some calculations tomorrow if I have time. I know I am getting over 100 gpd with a 75 gpd membrane but I want to find out what my number actually is. With my booster pump I'm get 100-105 psi. #Ryanbrs did a video on rodi gpd and the effects of different psi. I'll see if I can find it. If I were to guess I would say I'm close to 150 gpd out of a 75 gpd membrane. Another thing that is different with this smart buddy booster pump is that the sediment and carbon cartridges don't have the high pressure running through them like others pumps say to do. I don't know if that is a major help or difference over the other brands or not.
 
Last edited:
OP
haanstang

haanstang

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
361
Reaction score
215
Location
DeMotte IN
I have a couple of young tangs that will go in the 210. But other than them I am up in the air for my stocking list
Thinking about a male/female pair of blue throat triggers and a harlequin tusk
Anyone have any input?
What would you put in the tank?
 
Reef Pro Corals

How do you run activated carbon on your reef tank?

  • Reactor

    Votes: 301 37.1%
  • Filter Sock

    Votes: 37 4.6%
  • Mesh Bag

    Votes: 357 44.0%
  • Other (please explain in the thread)

    Votes: 12 1.5%
  • I don't run Carbon

    Votes: 104 12.8%

Online statistics

Members online
1,968
Guests online
4,512
Total visitors
6,480
Top