Let's talk about the new apex

Neptune
Tidal Gardens

alabella1

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
225
Reaction score
139
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Somers, NY
Send them to be fixed. Can't remember the guy on here that does it but it's cheap. Neptune has replaced the bum part with an upgraded part.

I pray my new 832 is rock solid like my EB8
This is your guy. He was amazing and actually eased my mind by telling me based on my serial and pix of the internals that mine came from the factory with the necessary improvements.

 
Top Shelf Aquatics
Tidal Gardens

DanTheReefer

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 2, 2019
Messages
289
Reaction score
291
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
The $300 junior is what Ryan has been saying he wanted for some time, an inexpensive monitor. It’s actually not a bad price, to build your own ph monitor at home with reef-pi costs $80-$160 just for the ph probe and circuit
 

gbru316

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 13, 2022
Messages
718
Reaction score
1,172
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Melbourne, FL
All they really have to do is come up with new reagents (not easy and maybe not possible even) and let us pick which 3 we want....assuming the photometer used can work for everything.

The reagents are already known -- potassium disulfate for phosphorous and malonic acid for nitrate. It's just a matter of figuring out how to meter the reagent and measure the color change.

I'm guessing it's a bit more difficult to measure than Ca, Mg, or alk as those are all titration tests and you just need to observe a significant shift in color. Po4 and No3 are colorimetry tests where you need to measure the shade/tint of color.

Still, Hanna's already done it. Given what seems like Neptune's periodic habit of licensing and rebranding, maybe they could license Hanna's process in their Triton V2 if Hanna were open to it.

Caveat: I'm not a chemist.
 

Jbell370

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2021
Messages
398
Reaction score
435
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
St Catharines
Need to talk to Ecotech (yes, I know under same umbrella). The ball is in their court to make this work. Kessil and Sicci use IoTA and it works great.



I wonder....could be this was being worked on as mentioned as a possibility in a live stream a while back. On the other hand I can see why it would be scrapped.
This is EXACTLY where I'm at man. Killing me right now.
I hear ya, take my money, no issue, just give me what I want.
 
AquaCave Logo Banner
Nutramar Foods

Yvarg

New Member
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 29, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
6
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Location
Lake Forest
ARE the processor and internals (chip, ram, wifi) updated from the A2 to the A3?
Finally, someone asks this! I've been digging through the release information to find any mention of technical specs and I'm kinda baffled at how no one else seems to care, haha.
 

migs

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
74
Reaction score
37
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Austin
Finally, someone asks this! I've been digging through the release information to find any mention of technical specs and I'm kinda baffled at how no one else seems to care, haha.
It is such a hard choice. I have the apex classic - I guess the A1. I need a new head unit for the trident but 2016 was so long ago, I skipped the A2 and waited for the A3. Six years is a long time for technology. If Apex was to run the Apple model, the. The hardware HAS to be better - faster, more memory, more features. If the A3 is truly the same as the A2 but with a different port configuration, then I guess it is time to move on. Does any one recommend an alternative monitoring/control system?
 
AquaCave Logo Banner

rtparty

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
2,756
Reaction score
4,561
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Utah
It is such a hard choice. I have the apex classic - I guess the A1. I need a new head unit for the trident but 2016 was so long ago, I skipped the A2 and waited for the A3. Six years is a long time for technology. If Apex was to run the Apple model, the. The hardware HAS to be better - faster, more memory, more features. If the A3 is truly the same as the A2 but with a different port configuration, then I guess it is time to move on. Does any one recommend an alternative monitoring/control system?

Why? Is there something the current hardware can't do or isn't doing?

A total change of hardware makes the A2 obsolete and backwards compatibility becomes an issue. They'd be right back to the A1 vs A2 debacle with loads of ticked off customers.

Imagine buying the A2 a month ago, A3 comes out and then they release Trident V2 but only A3 customers can use it. They just lost a ton of customers. Neptune wanted backwards compatibility to be a main priority. You can't do that if you change the internals. If Neptune was being Apple, they would have removed ports, stopped supporting the A1 and A2, and forced you into a subscription model of some kind all while raising the price. I'm pretty darn happy they didn't follow Apple in any way here.

I mean you can look at GHL and Hydros. Neither are faster, better, or have more features in the end. Both have terrible software IME.
 

migs

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
74
Reaction score
37
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Austin
You can have backwards compatibility with new internals. I can have a new wifi chip (2.4 ghz vs 5 vs 6) to support some of the new routers without it changing any backward compatibility. I can have more memory or a faster processor without changing any backward compatibility. The new internals does help you future proof as new probes, capabilities, and features come out. I didn't buy the A2 because I had just but the A1 months before and that really sucked. The A3 would be a big disappointment to me if the internals are absolutely the same... but to each his own.
 
Last edited:

Chrisv.

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 17, 2012
Messages
3,051
Reaction score
3,530
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
United States
It is such a hard choice. I have the apex classic - I guess the A1. I need a new head unit for the trident but 2016 was so long ago, I skipped the A2 and waited for the A3. Six years is a long time for technology. If Apex was to run the Apple model, the. The hardware HAS to be better - faster, more memory, more features. If the A3 is truly the same as the A2 but with a different port configuration, then I guess it is time to move on. Does any one recommend an alternative monitoring/control system?
This is EXACTLY my issue.
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

Chrisv.

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 17, 2012
Messages
3,051
Reaction score
3,530
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
United States
Why? Is there something the current hardware can't do or isn't doing?

A total change of hardware makes the A2 obsolete and backwards compatibility becomes an issue. They'd be right back to the A1 vs A2 debacle with loads of ticked off customers.

Imagine buying the A2 a month ago, A3 comes out and then they release Trident V2 but only A3 customers can use it. They just lost a ton of customers. Neptune wanted backwards compatibility to be a main priority. You can't do that if you change the internals. If Neptune was being Apple, they would have removed ports, stopped supporting the A1 and A2, and forced you into a subscription model of some kind all while raising the price. I'm pretty darn happy they didn't follow Apple in any way here.

I mean you can look at GHL and Hydros. Neither are faster, better, or have more features in the end. Both have terrible software IME.
I'd actually bet that if they did make a Trident 2 that only worked with apex3 or apex2 with an expensive add on module, they would make MORE money because people would grumble a whole lot and then upgrade.
 

rtparty

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
2,756
Reaction score
4,561
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Utah
You can have backwards compatibility with new internals. I can have a new wifi chip (2.4 ghz vs 5 vs 6) to support some of the new routers without it changing any backward compatibility. I can have more memory or a faster processor without changing any backward compatibility. The new internals does help you future proof as new probes, capabilities, and features come out. I didn't buy the A2 because I had just but the A1 months before and that really sucked. The A3 would be a big disappointment to me if the internals are absolutely the same... but to each his own.

But what is coming out or has come out that the A2 hardware can't do?

Is there some feature that Neptune has said, "Oh we have that technology but the current hardware can't support it so we won't release it?"

If upgrading to the A2 wasn't worth it, than the A3 isn't worth it either. Especially if the new sensors don't intrigue you.

I've never once had my Apex feel slow in some way. So I don't see where processor speed needs to be improved. WiFi chip I can see. Especially if it helps with mesh networks. So far wifi has been spot on for me. I prefer to hardwire but that means a 100ft run on my setup.
 
Corals.com
Top