mjt82's 220 build/progress thread!!

mjt82

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello reefers!

I'm starting this thread to document the progress of my 6' Marineland 220, which is an upgrade of a many-years-old 5' 100 gallon softie reef. I originally purchased this tank approximately two years ago, but life happened, and I wasn't able to get the tank up and running until about one year ago. It's easy for me keep up with the age of my tank, as it's the same age as my daughter - I finished up the swap over from the 100 gallon to the 220 the day before we brought her home from the hospital. (Many props to my lovely wife for allowing me to do that!!)

A little about myself:
I've been keeping saltwater since 2002 when I purchased a used 55 gallon setup (complete and running) for $200. My experience in the hobby has been through many iterations - from the 55 I went to a 180, then to a 100, then to a 30, then back to the 100, and now to the 220! I am a self-described lazy reefer, which I am trying to change as I have found myself desiring to keep more difficult corals and fish. I'm inconsistent in my testing and water changing - Looking for ideas on how to make myself more consistent.

The plan for the 220 was initially to continue keeping soft corals and some LPS. I've found myself looking more into SPS, however... So we will see how this moves along. I hope this thread is a candid glimpse into my journey as a reefer, including the ups and downs!

As this will begin as being retrospective, I have documented the majority of the progress of the set up of the tank, so the first few posts will be historical.

Thanks for reading!! Please, feel free to ask questions or make suggestions!

HotRocks

Fish Fanatic!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Look forward to updates and Pics.

Here at R2R we love Pics! Thanks for sharing and look forward to seeing progress! Happy Reefing!

OP
OP
mjt82

mjt82

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0