New to the hobby. Need help getting started! :D

edgar_ology

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there guys!
So im new to the hobby and very interested in keeping a reef aquarium.
I noticed my father had a an empty 50gal tank in his garage and felt I can put it to good use,
its a normal tank with a fall back filter, hood light, and heater, I understand this filtration and light wouldn't help me at all, and was wondering what equipment is necessary before continuing.

What im looking to keep:
pure corals,
maybe 1 to 3 fishes

1MCp

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As for equipment you can grab a protein skimmer, slightly larger capacity than your tank, so perhaps something that can handle up to 75 gallons. Lighting system depending on what type of corals you want to keep. Test kits are a must as well as you go through your tank cycle and moving forward. You will need some powerheads for water flow, kick in some extra cash to get the wave maker system.

enveeRF

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the hobby. With all the costs of a nice reef, my advice would be to possibly skip the 50 gallon tank you already have, and get the right setup from beginning. You might save money in the long run.

ChronicRage

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It all depends on what you want to do/your budget. You can drill it and throw a sump underneath for filtration. That's what most people on this site would more than likely do.
As far as lighting, you can go halide, T5, LED, or a combo of any or all three options. I recommend watching some of the BRS videos on theit 52 weeks of Reefing series. You'll learn a lot about lighting through them.
Do your research. I like to find things on BRS then come over here and do a search for it and see what people here are saying about said product or whatever.