Nightcrawlers for Corals and Fish

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nutrition' started by Reefs of Space, Jun 11, 2018.

?
  1. Yes

28 vote(s)
    4.7%
  2. No

533 vote(s)
    90.3%
  3. Yucky

29 vote(s)
    4.9%
  1. Reefs of Space

Reefs of Space Active Member Tampa Bay Reef Keepers Build Thread Contributor

I've been using nightcrawlers for about six months with excellent results. I figure they're mostly protein so I still feed a mixture of crushed New Life Spectrum and other dry foods inbetween worm feedings.

european_nightcrawlers3.jpg

Sabellafella and Jomama like this.

2. Reefs of Space

Anemones and LPS are what's mostly being fed the nightcrawlers. I've seen a noticeable difference in size since starting this new regimen. The first picture is when I started 6 months ago. Since then, it has split and almost doubled in size.

20171211_164611-01-01.jpeg

20180528_163343-01.jpeg

3. mattgsa

mattgsa Active Member R2R Supporter

Will you please elaborate on how to you prepare the night crawlers for feeding?

4. cracker

cracker Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Hospitality Award

Yes, do tell . I fed red wrigglers once upon a time . they are smaller the crawlers .I only had fish back then.

Reefs of Space likes this.
  5. Reefs of Space

I rinse a few and put them in a container. They usually spew out some nasty stuff. So after a few minutes I'll usually rinse them again and the container. After that I cut one up with scissors and feed each piece (1/8-1/4") immediately straight to individual coral mouths. Each piece wriggles for about a minute so you get some agressive feeding responses. The corals practically snatch it from you.

Jomama and cracker like this.
  6. Reefs of Space

Red wrigglers work well too.

cracker likes this.
  7. cracker

cracker Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Hospitality Award