Nightcrawlers for Corals and Fish

Have you ever used Nightcrawlers for feeding Corals and Fish?

• Yes

Votes: 30 5.0%
  • No

Votes: 540 90.2%
  • Yucky

Votes: 29 4.8%

• Total voters

Reefs of Space

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been using nightcrawlers for about six months with excellent results. I figure they're mostly protein so I still feed a mixture of crushed New Life Spectrum and other dry foods inbetween worm feedings.

european_nightcrawlers3.jpg

OP
OP
Reefs of Space

Reefs of Space

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Anemones and LPS are what's mostly being fed the nightcrawlers. I've seen a noticeable difference in size since starting this new regimen. The first picture is when I started 6 months ago. Since then, it has split and almost doubled in size.

20171211_164611-01-01.jpeg

20180528_163343-01.jpeg

cracker

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, do tell . I fed red wrigglers once upon a time . they are smaller the crawlers .I only had fish back then.

OP
OP
Reefs of Space

Reefs of Space

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I rinse a few and put them in a container. They usually spew out some nasty stuff. So after a few minutes I'll usually rinse them again and the container. After that I cut one up with scissors and feed each piece (1/8-1/4") immediately straight to individual coral mouths. Each piece wriggles for about a minute so you get some agressive feeding responses. The corals practically snatch it from you.

cracker

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
One could have a simple worm bed why not earth worms instead of white worms? You could harvest the smallest ones. seems easier than white worm cultures.
Do You buy your worms at the bait shop perhaps?

OP
OP
Reefs of Space

Reefs of Space

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0