Salinity and Temperature?

term_paint

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have read so many articles that i am now confused. I want to have a seahorse tank with a few mild fish. I need someone with success to please let me know what is the best temperature and salinity to keep this tank at. Everyone has varing opinions that why i need to speak and take advice from someone who has the experience and success rate. Thanks so much.

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@SeahorseKeeper just wrote an article. HERE it is....it's a start....and I'm sure Krista will respond here as well.

Last edited:

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am not sure that I am your person but I have been keeping seahorses for over 3 years now. I still have 1 of my 2 original ponies. Sadly I have had losses however but none that I would attribute to salinity or temperature.

Most of us seahorse keepers would agree that maintaining a temperature at 74° or lower will help inhibit the growth of pathogenic bacteria. Pathogenic bacteria is a big reason seahorses in aquaria become sick or die. They just do not have the same immune capability as other marine fishes. The are lacking in 3 main areas, gills, gut and their skin. When dangerous bacterias get a foothold in a tank because the husbandry and water changes are insufficient then these opportunistic pathogens can affect our ponies in these areas. However, their growth in a tank is inhibited at 74° or lower. At 75° or above they begin to reproduce exponentially.