Andy's FW to SW Conversion

Bigboned

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So i joined recently and have seen that R2R really does live up to its friendly reputation, So ive decided i should open myself upto abuse lol - Heres a build thread!!

Ok its going to be a slow work in progress so apologies upfront, there wont be weekly updates as im paid monthly lol i mentioned in my introductory post that im coming over from FW so this is going to be a converting thread rather than a typical build. I know pictures are important so there will be plenty on route and as i try and voice the thoughts in my head i really would like comments, critique and suggestions as its my first time going SW and ive to make a lot of compromises which are not necessarily ideal
So to start here is my current FW setup:

IMG_1187.JPG

a 4ft x 15" and 2ft deep tank
the 2 cubby's in the stand only have a useable space of 12" x 12" - i understand how much better a sump setup would be BUT im just not feeling the space with my plans
1 cubby currently houses my canister and booster filter, i use the booster for mechanical media and it gets cleaned weekly, the eheim canister houses only bio media and so dosnt get cleaned as often - i think this is preferable than using it for combined bio and mech where the bio would be constantly being disturbed - the pics arent great but my water is crystal
IMG_1184.JPG
the other cubby houses electrics, my wave controller, test kits etc IMG_1185.JPG

a wavemaker in a FW you say - yes i know ive always preffered the surface movement for plant movement and for gas transfer rather than the typical bubble curtain, altho in the dark corner there is an eheim air pump - hopefully this last pic gives some idea of scale with the controller as to how little room there is inside.