Trident FAQ (official)

Discussion in 'Neptune Systems' started by Terence, May 7, 2019.

  1. strike2867

    strike2867 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    Thank you. Found that in my search a bit back and used it to send the ticket. The unit is brand new, so all reagents are almost full. It's hasn't been able to get a reading yet.
     

  2. rkpetersen

    rkpetersen walked the sand with the crustaceans R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Partner Member 2019 Controller Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,176
    Likes Received:
    5,477
    Location:
    Near Seattle
    That's unfortunate. Make sure that the reagent A line isn't kinked or pinched anywhere.
     
  3. strike2867

    strike2867 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    They had me run the test with the drawer open, with the same result. Also I tried the "prime" functionality, and it filled up 6/7 of the way up.
     
  4. Zaireguy

    Zaireguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have been dealing with the failed test a for two days also.been dealing with support they have been great but so far i can not get it to work properly
     
  5. Abhishek

    Abhishek Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    3,222
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    @Terence - Have a question on usage of calcium reactor with trident . I know that it has native support for DOS and can control the dosage from DOS based on the ALK value .

    Now in a system using calcium reactor with very high alk demands due to acro only tank - any easy way to control calcium reactor CO2 input ?

    Only thing I can think of is a 2 step process with calcium reactor and DOS as follows :-
    • Have my calcium reactor as normal and tune it such that it meets a little less than my actual requirement .
    • Have Trident test ALK, Ca and Mg
    • Use DOS to dose the remaining amount of Alk or Ca to meet my required parameters .
    • If Alk goes beyond the prescribed value, switch off solenoid on my calcium reactor .
    • If CO2 tank runs out or peristaltic feed pump on Calcium reactor conks out , still have the backup of DOS to keep dosing to meet Alk and Ca demands based on Trident testing .
    Is there any flaw in the above theory ? If you have already answered this, extremely sorry for asking again .

    I wish someday there will an integrated solution of a peristaltic feed pump for calcium reactors from Neptune such that I could control the effluent rate :)

    Regards,
    Abhishek
     
  6. infinityends

    infinityends Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    45
    Im not sure if Neptune has posted a chart anywhere. But if anyone is curious I did the basic math for reagent usage for different test schedules Alk/Ca/Mg per day and approximate number of days reagents will last.

    4/2/2 - 60 Days - Default Testing Schedule
    6/3/3 - 45 Days
    8/4/4 - 30 Days
    12/6/6 - 20 Days
    24/12/12 - 10 Days

    So far I’m loving having the trident. Just being able to see at a glance what my tanks parameters are is such a convenience. I’ve long been sick of dealing with test kits.

    I am typically only away from my tank for longer than 1 night a couple of times per year. But I’m constantly concerned about potential issues when I am away. Anyone who travels for work will absolutely love the extra level of assurance that everything is normal. Or early notification of an issue.
     
    Snookin likes this.
  7. rui.manuel.gaspar

    rui.manuel.gaspar Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    133
    @Terence
    So ... I control my Calcium reactor with a DOS. Working flawlessly for over the past almost 1.5y. I have set a pH inside the reactor and I am dosing pushing 40 litres daily thru DOS
    Would not be possible for Trident and automated KH control to use and change the amount being dosed by the DOS?
    I could see dosing 1 more or 1 less litre to meet demand of my system.
    Then when reaching the safety limits of the automated dosing without being able to meet demand I could simply go to APEX and drop 0.1/0.2 pH inside the reactor.
    I have been doing this manually and I can tell you that I don't change it that often.

    What do you think?

    All the best,
    Rui
     
  8. Bobek

    Bobek Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    22
    Where is Trident made?
     
  9. JimWelsh

    JimWelsh Valuable Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Location:
    Angwin, CA
    In a secret cave deep inside Neptune's lair.
     
    DSC reef, Bobek and VJV like this.
  10. Terence

    Terence Valuable Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Partner Sponsor 2019

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    2,896
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    Individual pieces of the Trident come from all around the world. The Trident is assembled, tested, and packaged in Morgan Hill, CA.
     
    Bobek likes this.
  11. Terence

    Terence Valuable Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Partner Sponsor 2019

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    2,896
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    This is possible, likely using some virtual outlets and advanced programming. That is out of the scope of this thread, but I encourage you to start a new thread in our community forum on our web site.
     
  12. Bobek

    Bobek Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ok thank you Terence, i just wanted make sure is U.S product
     
  13. Terence

    Terence Valuable Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Partner Sponsor 2019

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    2,896
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    Sounds like the right approach.
     
    Abhishek likes this.
  14. dante411x

    dante411x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    Now this is exactly what I’m interested in. Where is the thread with the issues the trident has been having? I keep hearing of how awesome it is, but with how few units have been sold, having two separate people with the same problem is immediately putting a huge red flag for me.
     
  15. Acroporaaddict

    Acroporaaddict Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    415
    For those of you that are running a calcium reactor, have you set up your trident to control it yet? I have thought about setting the co2 to turn off if the tank alkalinity goes higher than a set number, but then I'm also worried about large swings. For example, turn off co2 if alk>9dkh. it could turn off if it hits 9dkh, but the next test, 6 hours later could easily be 8.5dkh with no supplementation from the reactor. Would it be better to program a higher reactor ph to lower the effluent concentration if your tank hits your max alk value? How would I program something like that?
     
    PerplexyHexy likes this.
  16. ca1ore

    ca1ore Valuable Member R2R Supporter CTARS Member R2R Excellence Award R2R TV Featured Reef Tank 365 Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    9,360
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Just got notified a few minutes ago. Seems like 10 or so units back in stock at BRS.
     
  17. Reefpuck

    Reefpuck Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Shows out of stock
     
    MnFish1 likes this.
  18. ca1ore

    ca1ore Valuable Member R2R Supporter CTARS Member R2R Excellence Award R2R TV Featured Reef Tank 365 Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    9,360
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Wow ….. that was FAST! I wonder if my order got in under the wire?
     
    MnFish1 likes this.
  19. Picard's Lionfish

    Picard's Lionfish Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    42
    I accidentally ordered something in addition to the trident. I called and found out they only had 10. I am super stoked that such an unlucky person could get so lucky...:)
     
    Rick Strauss likes this.
  20. Sharisnewreeftank

    Sharisnewreeftank Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    198
    Just got my Trident installed. I hear the robotic noises- how long does it take to run the first set of tests? And at the minimum test number setting, does it make the noises all day? Thanks for letting me know. Also, how often do you need to replace reagent at the min test level so I know when to reorder.
    TIA
     
Draft saved Draft deleted