Trident FAQ (official)

Discussion in 'Neptune Systems' started by Terence, May 7, 2019.

  1. saf1

    saf1 Valuable Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    4,119
    This may be a dumb question but does the Trident come with a check engine light (just an example) as it related to recommended service?

    My understanding is there is a recommended window. I'm not sure if the OS knows when the Trident is brought online and an internal task is set to pop up a tile change or icon color change when service is due. I'm sure the owners can add a calendar reminder somewhere but I thought if not already implemented this might be something worth adding. I'm pretty forgetful I have to say and I'm sure this is something that I may overlook and have to go back and see when I added it, etc.
     
    siggy likes this.

  2. Terence

    Terence Valuable Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Partner Sponsor 2019

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    2,896
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    We are considering something like this. Since this time is quite a ways off for most people, it does not yet have the priority that other changes do.
     
    MnFish1 and saf1 like this.
  3. ca1ore

    ca1ore Valuable Member R2R Supporter CTARS Member R2R Excellence Award R2R TV Featured Reef Tank 365 Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    9,360
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I put a post-it note on my UV with the bulb change date - very helpful for the chronically forgetful. Did the same with trident.
     
    dante411x, MnFish1 and saf1 like this.
  4. mitch91175

    mitch91175 Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,095
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Location:
    Rowlett, TX
    I just set reminders in Fusion and call it a day. When the task shows I know I have to change something.
     
    MnFish1, Jeffdstafford and saf1 like this.
  5. saf1

    saf1 Valuable Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    4,119
    Thank you - that makes sense. Reminder in Fusion or like @ca1ore mentioned with the note. Have a good day!
     
  6. SecondCityCorals

    SecondCityCorals Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    31
    Lets say I want to adjust my co2 reactor power outlet based upon Trident measurements. How would I do this?

    Essentially, if the Trident detects alk below 9.5 I want my co2 reactor power port to turn on until PH in my calc reactor is below 6.4
    If my trident detects above alk above 9.5, I want my co2 reactor power port to turn on until my PH in my calc reactor is below 6.5
    If my trident detects alk below 9.0 I want my co2 reactor power port to turn on until PH in my calc reactor is below 6.2

    etc etc that sort of thing.
     
    CNDReef likes this.
  7. francesco.mancini

    francesco.mancini Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    brooklyn ny
    Hey I calibrated my trident using the quick guide on the apex fusion. I was not told to prime the sample line and accidentally proceed without priming the calibration fluid . Does the trident automatically prime calibration fluid when you use the quick setup?
     
  8. Hitch08

    Hitch08 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    98
    I am pretty sure that it does. I don’t remember having to prime the calibration fluid.
     
  9. francesco.mancini

    francesco.mancini Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    brooklyn ny
    The reason I’m worrying about this is when I last used the salifert test kit about a month ago my readings with the trident were very close after I calibrated 2 nights ago my reading are 1.5 dkh off .. I just ordered another salifert kit to cross check again
     
    CNDReef and MnFish1 like this.
  10. MnFish1

    MnFish1 Valuable Member R2R Supporter Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    6,283
    Likes Received:
    6,910
    How do you know its not the salifert test thats 'off'. If im buying a product to test alkalinity - (especially the Trident) - it seems to me that that should be the 'gold standard' not a salifert test kit. In order to test something like this - you would need at least 3 tests right? I mean - so one test says 8, one test says 9.6. You repeat them - they say the same thing - who knows whats 'right'.
     
  11. DangerDave

    DangerDave Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor NJRC Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    Little Egg Harbor, NJ
    I don’t think he does, which is why he ordered a new one :)
     
  12. Chris155hp

    Chris155hp Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Best way I can show you visually comparing the trident with anything else is pretty much useless to a degree. You don’t compare something inherently more accurate to something less accurate and then say it’s off if it doesn’t line up. I would think if anything you can test the trident right after you calibrate it with the standard/calibration fluid. 4D970451-A77D-49B5-875C-102ABA93A638.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2019
    JimWelsh and MnFish1 like this.
  13. MnFish1

    MnFish1 Valuable Member R2R Supporter Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    6,283
    Likes Received:
    6,910
    Exactly
     
  14. JimWelsh

    JimWelsh Valuable Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Location:
    Angwin, CA
    I really felt that Terence did a great job of showing this and putting it in perspective.
     
    MnFish1 and Maacc like this.
  15. NeptunePaul

    NeptunePaul Member Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Morgan Hill
    The task does the prime automatically there is no need to do that manually.

    The Get Started Guide for calibration (and all the Get Started Guides related to Trident) is written for those that DO NOT utilize the task we have built in Apex Fusion. This may be because they do not have access to Apex Fusion or because they prefer more traditional written instructions. You can do one or the other. You do not need to to both.

    Hope that helps to clear up some confusion.
     
  16. Jon M.

    Jon M. Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    145
    @NeptunePaul I installed my Trident two days ago as instructed. I did not calibrate it since it was not part of the instructions. My alk and mag are in line with my test kits but my calcium is 326 (Trident) vs 426 (Hannah). Should I give it more time or calibrate it. Also the inside of the bag for the calibration fluid was wet so seems the bottle was leaking.
     
  17. Chris155hp

    Chris155hp Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Just wanted to share. The Stability of Trident controlled Alk dosing. Target is 8.6 DKH

    Alk.JPG
    ALK1.JPG
     
    Krazie4Acans likes this.
  18. Jon M.

    Jon M. Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    145
    Link is broken - Nevermind it showed up now
     
  19. strike2867

    strike2867 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    I've set the trident to control my DOS using the control interval modal under the DOS settings. I'm testing 4 times per day. When does it change the value being dosed? What is the formula it uses to change it? How can I know how much it is currently dosing?
     
  20. NeptunePaul

    NeptunePaul Member Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Morgan Hill
    The important thing to do before calibrating is to observe precision in your measurements. I.E. to make sure there are no installation issues or unlikely hardware problems. Once precision has been established, then you can calibrate it to bring in the accuracy. In our opinion, it will take 2-3 days of observation after the initial setup to observe that precision.
     
    MnFish1 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted