Huddy_

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey fellas, hope your holiday weekend is treating you well. I’m planning to start the process of building a 15g nano reef w/ fish after a couple year hiatus coming from a fresh water cichlid tank. I have very little experience with saltwater tanks so I am doing my due diligence and researching as much as I can before I pull the trigger on buying anything. So I would just like to ask for everyones advice and if there are any tips I could use.

I will start off with the equipment and tank I have picked out:

Tank-Innovative Marine 15G Fusion AIO

Heater- Innovative Marine Helio 100W PTC

Protein Skimmer - Tunze Comline DOC Skimmer 9001 DC

Auto top-off - PNW Customs Micro ATO

Light- AI Prime 16 HD

Upgraded Return Pump - Sicce Syncra Silent 1.0

Please let me know if there are any better alternatives at or around the same price, as well as if I’m missing anything or you guys/gals suggest any additional equipment to make my life a tiny bit easier.

As for filtration, I plan to use filter floss, chemipure blue, and marinepur gems.

In the future I will be making a cheato reactor for algae.

Testing -

Refractometer

Tropic Marin Compact Lab Essentials test kit

Do I need additional tests for magnesium or calcium?

Fish:

I plan to have 2 clowns, a pygmy angel, and maybe one or two others.

What inverts do you suggest as a clean up crew?

With the very mixed opinions about feeding, I have gathered that I should be feeding frozen mysis shrimp once a day. Pellets should only be used as a treat or backup food since they are very protein dense and can cause an ammonia spike easily.